Browse categories
Home
  1. Fiction/
  2. Adventure/
  3. War & combat fiction

Most popular War & combat fiction books

The most popular War & combat fiction books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Cilka's Journey: The sequel to The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Cilka learns quickly that power, even unwillingly given, equals survival. After liberation, Cilka is charged as a collaborator for sleeping with the enemy and sent to Siberia.
2
Inheritance of Solomon Farthing
An heir hunter in modern-day Edinburgh searches out the rightful inheritor to a dead man's fortune - an investigation that will lead him to the battlefields of WWI France, and the mystery of a six-man firing squad . . .
3
Pirata: The dramatic novel of the pirates who hunt the seas of the Roman Empire
PIRATA - the dramatic and action-packed novel of Roman pirates in AD 25, from the bestselling authors of INVADER and ARENA. Simon Scarrow is also the Sunday Times-bestselling author of the Eagles of the Empire novels including THE BLOOD OF ROME.
4
Winter Soldier
The stunning third novel from the bestselling author of The Piano Tuner. As the First World War devastates Europe, The Winter Soldier is the story of one man thrust, utterly unprepared, into a remote medical outpost in the Carpathian mountains, and the woman that is set to save him.
5
Children's Block: Based on a true story by an Auschwitz survivor
Alex is keeping a diary...Originally published as THE PAINTED WALL, Otto Kraus's autobiographical novel, tells the true story of 500 Jewish children who lived in the Czech Family Camp in Auschwitz-Birkenau between September 1943 and June 1944.
6
Scorpion's Strike: Empire X
The tenth instalment of the bestselling Empire Series, which sees Marcus Aquila on a mission to Gaul where a bandit turns out to be a dangerous revolutionary.
7
Red Strike: A Strike Back Novel (4)
Strike Back legend John Porter and ex-SAS anti-hero John Bald join forces to take on their deadliest enemy yet: the Russian war machine.
8
Die!Die!Die! Volume 1
9
Pack Up Your Troubles: War at Home 6
The sixth and final book in the War at Home series by the author of The Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the evocative backdrop of World War I, this is an epic family drama featuring the Hunters and their servants
10
War is Over
From the bestselling, award-winning author of SKELLIG comes a vivid and moving story, beautifully illustrated, written to commemorate the hundred-year anniversary of the end of the First World War.
11
Heroes on the Home Front: A wonderfully uplifting wartime story
The second novel in the wonderfully uplifting Factory Girls series. Beth is longing for someone too - and it's not her husband on the front line...As the factory girls face hardship on the home front, they will discover that the heroes they need are already by their side.
12
Beneath the Cypress Tree
A sweeping saga of friends and lovers, set in Crete during the Second World War.
13
Fifth Column
A thrilling novel about the only man who can stop Nazi sympathizers from rising up and plunging New York, America and the world into darkness, from Andrew Gross, the bestselling author of The One Man and The Spy.
14
Varina
A stunning and timely novel about the chaos and devastation of the American Civil War, as seen through the memories of one woman looking back over it from old age.
15
Children of the Siege
A lost child, a family divided, the bitter backdrop of war - set in 19th-century France.
16
Slaughterhouse 5: 50th Anniversary Edition
50th ANNIVERSARY SPECIAL EDITIONAs a young man and a prisoner of war, Kurt Vonnegut witnessed the 1945 US fire-bombing of Dresden in Germany, which reduced the once proudly beautiful city to rubble and claimed the lives of thousands of its citizens.
17
Rebel Killer (Jack Lark, Book 7): A gripping tale of revenge in the American Civil War
The seventh action-packed Victorian military adventure featuring hero Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter.
18
Irish Princess: Her father's only daughter. Her country's only hope.
In her new standalone novel Elizabeth Chadwick brings to life one of history's forgotten figures - the fearless Irish princess and unsung heroine Aoife MacMurchada - as she did with her bestselling Eleanor of Aquitaine trilogy.
19
Disappearance
From the bestselling author of The Legacy, comes a compelling novel exploring guilt, love and the importance of telling the truth, all set against the backdrop of war
20
All Quiet on the Western Front
'Remarque's evocation of the horrors of modern warfare has lost none of its force' The TimesTRANSLATED BY BRIAN MURDOCHNow published for the first time alongside Brian Murdoch's new translation of the novel's sequel: The Way Back.
21
Courtney's War
22
Murder Under a Green Sea
Max is an impecunious journalist married to Martha, the daughter of a wealthy family. Max discovers members of his old platoon from Passchendaele are being knocked off one by one. With the police believing Max is the murderer, he and Martha are forced to go on the run. Will he solve the crime or will the murderer or Police get to him first?
23
Way Back
The sequel to All Quiet on the Western Front, one of the most powerful novels of the First World War and a twentieth-century classic. If All Quiet on the Western Front was a lament for a lost generation, this sequel speaks with the same resonant voice for those who came back.
24
For Whom The Bell Tolls
High in the pine forests of the Spanish Sierra, a guerrilla band prepares to blow up a vital bridge. Robert Jordan, a young American volunteer, has been sent to handle the dynamiting. There, in the mountains, he finds the dangers and the intense comradeship of war. And there he discovers Maria, a young woman who has escaped from Franco's rebels.
25
Black Ops: Danny Black Thriller 7
The seventh book in the bestselling Danny Black series
26
Ration Book Childhood
Jean Fullerton, the queen of the East End, returns with a wonderful new nostalgic novel. Because in the darkest days of the Blitz, family is more important than ever.
27
Volunteer
An odyssey of loss and salvation ranging across four generations of fathers and sons, in the finest tradition of American storytelling. From the Cambodian jungle, to a flophouse in Queens, to a commune in New Mexico, Vollie's path traces a secret history of life on the margins of America, culminating with an inevitable and terrible reckoning.
28
Runaways
29
Close Run Thing
John Pearce is hiding in Gravelines with his mysterious companion, known to him as Oliphant. Although they find a crew willing to take them back to England, they learn on the journey that Pearce's old enemies, the Tolland brothers, are still active on the route, and may have been responsible for the murder of Catherine Carruthers.
30
Summerland
She also has an ulterior motive: she needs to find a place called Summerland Hall where she hopes she will find the one person left alive who is deeply important to her. An extraordinary tale, with some events inspired by history, that encompasses truth, tolerance, racism and forgiveness.
31
Eyes of Asia
Kipling's The Eyes of Asia takes the reader on a remarkable journey of discovery into the heart and soul of four soldiers of the Indian Army who fought for King and the British Empire in the First World War.
32
Life And Fate (Vintage Classic Russians Series)
The great Russian 20th-century novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Stalingrad. As the battle of Stalingrad looms, Grossman's characters must work out their destinies in a world torn by ideological tyranny and war.
33
Eight Hours from England
Autumn 1943. Major John Overton accepts a posting behind enemy lines in Nazi-occupied Albania. As he struggles to complete his mission amidst a chaotic backdrop, Overton is left to ruminate on loyalty, comradeship and the futility of war.
34
Beneath a Scarlet Sky: A Novel
35
Raid 42
The next instalment of the Wars Within series. With Churchill refusing to negotiate and intelligence agencies at each other's throats, Rudolf Hess becomes the unexpected catalyst that changes the fortunes of the war.
36
Address Unknown
37
Paris Echo
Weaves winningly between the present and the Second World War, between Tangier and Paris' ObserverAmerican academic Hannah and runaway Moroccan teenager Tariq have little in common, yet both find themselves haunted by the ghosts of Paris. Urgent and deeply moving, Paris Echo asks how much we really need to know in order to live a valuable life.
38
After the Party
39
Hidden
Her heart died in the war - can she breathe new life into it?
40
Memoir of an Anti-Hero
41
To the Eastern Seas: Thomas Kydd 22
Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: To the Eastern Seas will be the twenty-second novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Thomas Kydd series.
42
Scarlet Nightingale: The thrilling wartime love story by national treasure Alan Titchmarsh
The new novel from Britain's favourite gardener and TV presenter Alan Titchmarsh is a sweeping story of love, danger, courage and betrayal, set in wartime London and Paris.
43
Fourth Shore
Virginia Baily's new novel, her follow-up to the internationally bestselling Early One Morning, is a sweeping, absorbing novel by one of the most gifted, humane and perceptive storytellers at work today.
44
Mother's Love
Can love see her through the darkness?'A heartwarming story of love and loss' Woman's WeeklyLiverpool, 1940: there comes a moment in every child's life when they must learn to stand on their own two feet. The death of her mother and the increase in air raids leaves Ellie alone and in grave danger.
45
Trial By Battle
October 1941. Twenty-one-year-old Alan Mart is posted to India, and soon after the Japanese advance on Singapore is deployed to Malaya. What follows is a quietly shattering and searingly authentic depiction of the claustrophobia of jungle warfare and the futility of war.
46
Old Baggage: Shortlisted for the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Literature 2019
Jailed five times, she marched, sang, gave speeches, smashed windows and heckled Winston Churchill, and nothing - nothing - since then has had the same depth, the same excitement.
47
World on Fire
Their revolution would ignite a continent... An epic novel set during one of the most savage and dramatic moments in European history.
48
North
The second and final instalment in a stunning high-concept post-apocalyptic series in the vein of The Passage by Justin Cronin and Wool by Hugh Howey.
49
Lost Outlaw (Jack Lark, Book 8)
The eighth action-packed Victorian military adventure featuring hero Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter.
50
Farewell To Arms
In 1918 Ernest Hemingway went to war, to the 'war to end all wars'. A love story of immense drama and uncompromising passion, A Farewell to Arms offers a unique and unflinching view of the world and people, by the winner of the 1954 Nobel Prize for Literature.