Browse categories
Home
  1. Fiction/
  2. Adventure/
  3. War & combat fiction

Most popular War & combat fiction books

The most popular War & combat fiction books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Winter Hope: A heartwarming festive World War II saga
For fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries, The Hope Family Christmas is a heart-warming festive novel from the Queen of family saga, and author of The Winter Baby and The Gingerbread Girl, Sheila Newberry. All they want for Christmas is a new home.
2
Pirata: The dramatic novel of the pirates who hunt the seas of the Roman Empire
PIRATA - the Sunday Times bestseller. An action-packed novel of Roman pirates in AD 25, from the bestselling author of the Eagles of the Empire novels including TRAITORS OF ROME.
3
Pirata: The dramatic novel of the pirates who hunt the seas of the Roman Empire
PIRATA - the dramatic and action-packed novel of Roman pirates in AD 25, from the bestselling authors of INVADER and ARENA. Simon Scarrow is also the Sunday Times-bestselling author of the Eagles of the Empire novels including THE BLOOD OF ROME.
4
Inheritance of Solomon Farthing
An heir hunter in modern-day Edinburgh searches out the rightful inheritor to a dead man's fortune - an investigation that will lead him to the battlefields of WWI France, and the mystery of a six-man firing squad . . .
5
Cilka's Journey: The sequel to The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Cilka learns quickly that power, even unwillingly given, equals survival. After liberation, Cilka is charged as a collaborator for sleeping with the enemy and sent to Siberia.
6
Annelies: A Novel of Anne Frank
7
Game of Thrones: A Guide to Westeros and Beyond: The Only Official Guide to the Complete HBO TV Series
8
Red Strike: A Strike Back Novel (4)
Strike Back legend John Porter and ex-SAS anti-hero John Bald join forces to take on their deadliest enemy yet: the Russian war machine.
9
Pack Up Your Troubles: War at Home, 1919
The sixth and final book in the War at Home series by the author of The Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the evocative backdrop of World War I, this is an epic family drama featuring the Hunters and their servants
10
Die!Die!Die! Volume 1
11
Pack Up Your Troubles: War at Home, 1919
The sixth and final book in the War at Home series by the author of The Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the evocative backdrop of World War I, this is an epic family drama featuring the Hunters and their servants
12
Scorpion's Strike: Empire X
The tenth instalment of the bestselling Empire Series, which sees Marcus Aquila on a mission to Gaul where a bandit turns out to be a dangerous revolutionary.
13
Heroes on the Home Front: A wonderfully uplifting wartime story
The second novel in the wonderfully uplifting Factory Girls series. Beth is longing for someone too - and it's not her husband on the front line...As the factory girls face hardship on the home front, they will discover that the heroes they need are already by their side.
14
War is Over
From the bestselling, award-winning author of SKELLIG comes a vivid and moving story, beautifully illustrated, written to commemorate the hundred-year anniversary of the end of the First World War.
15
Beneath the Cypress Tree
A sweeping saga of friends and lovers, set in Crete during the Second World War.
16
Orphan's Gift: An unputdownable Liverpool saga of love and loss
When all seems lost, will her mother's legacy keep her safe? THE ORPHAN'S GIFT is a poignant and heart-warming Liverpool saga by Anne Baker, not to be missed by fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.
17
Traitors of Rome (Eagles of the Empire 18)
Roman army officers Centurion Marco and Tribune Cato confront treachery in the ranks in the thrilling new adventure from the Sunday Times-bestselling author of THE BLOOD OF ROME
18
Long Flight Home: a heart-breaking and uplifting World War 2 love story
A moving, masterfully written story of love and sacrifice, inspired by the fascinating, yet little-known mission of carrier pigeons during WWII. Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Dear Mrs Bird.
19
Black Ops: Danny Black Thriller 7
The seventh book in the bestselling Danny Black series
20
Varina
A stunning and timely novel about the chaos and devastation of the American Civil War, as seen through the memories of one woman looking back over it from old age.
21
Rebel Killer (Jack Lark, Book 7): A gripping tale of revenge in the American Civil War
The seventh action-packed Victorian military adventure featuring hero Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter.
22
Crofter's Daughter: A heartwarming rural saga
'When I'm the farmer,' began Mairi, and then she stopped, for she would never be the farmer. Since she was nine Mairi McGloughlin has known she wants to be a farmer, but by the law of the land it's her scholarly brother Ian who will someday inherit.
23
Fifth Column
A thrilling novel about the only man who can stop Nazi sympathizers from rising up and plunging New York, America and the world into darkness, from Andrew Gross, the bestselling author of The One Man and The Spy.
24
Paris Echo
25
Caging Skies: THE INSPIRATION FOR THE MAJOR MOTION PICTURE 'JOJO RABBIT'
A gripping, atmospheric novel about obsession and love in war-time Vienna
26
Children of the Siege
A lost child, a family divided, the bitter backdrop of war - set in 19th-century France.
27
Murder Under a Green Sea
Max is an impecunious journalist married to Martha, the daughter of a wealthy family. Max discovers members of his old platoon from Passchendaele are being knocked off one by one. With the police believing Max is the murderer, he and Martha are forced to go on the run. Will he solve the crime or will the murderer or Police get to him first?
28
Courtney's War
29
Disappearance
From the bestselling author of The Legacy, comes a compelling novel exploring guilt, love and the importance of telling the truth, all set against the backdrop of war
30
Blood's Campaign: There can only be one victor . . .
In the theatre of war there can only be one victor . . 1690 On the banks of the River Boyne in Ireland, rival monarchs William of Orange and James Stuart meet in bloody conflict, and Lieutenant Holcroft Blood must face his personal enemies and those of his sovereign.
31
Eyes of Asia
Kipling's The Eyes of Asia takes the reader on a remarkable journey of discovery into the heart and soul of four soldiers of the Indian Army who fought for King and the British Empire in the First World War.
32
Head Hunters: Danny Black Thriller 6
The sixth book in the Danny Black series.
33
Close Run Thing
John Pearce is hiding in Gravelines with his mysterious companion, known to him as Oliphant. Although they find a crew willing to take them back to England, they learn on the journey that Pearce's old enemies, the Tolland brothers, are still active on the route, and may have been responsible for the murder of Catherine Carruthers.
34
Volunteer
An odyssey of loss and salvation ranging across four generations of fathers and sons, in the finest tradition of American storytelling. The year is 1966 and a young man named Vollie Frade, almost on a whim, enlists in the United States Marine Corps to fight in Vietnam.
35
Stubby: A True Story of Friendship
Stubby was a brave soldier, a loyal friend... and a dog. From an army training camp to the trenches in France, this is the incredible true story of Sergeant Stubby, the dog who served bravely in the First World War, sniffing out gas attacks, catching spies and winning the hearts of his fellow soldiers.
36
Runaways
37
For Whom The Bell Tolls
'The best fictional report of the Spanish Civil War that we possess' Anthony BurgessHigh in the pine forests of the Spanish Sierra, a guerrilla band prepares to blow up a vital bridge.
38
Farewell To Arms
In 1918 Ernest Hemingway went to war, to the 'war to end all wars'. A love story of immense drama and uncompromising passion, A Farewell to Arms offers a unique and unflinching view of the world and people, by the winner of the 1954 Nobel Prize for Literature.
39
Way Back
The sequel to All Quiet on the Western Front, one of the most powerful novels of the First World War and a twentieth-century classic.
40
Fourth Shore
Virginia Baily's new novel, her follow-up to the internationally bestselling Early One Morning, is a sweeping, absorbing novel by one of the most gifted, humane and perceptive storytellers at work today.
41
All Quiet on the Western Front
'Remarque's evocation of the horrors of modern warfare has lost none of its force' The TimesTRANSLATED BY BRIAN MURDOCHNow published for the first time alongside Brian Murdoch's new translation of the novel's sequel: The Way Back.
42
Ration Book Childhood
Jean Fullerton, the queen of the East End, returns with a wonderful new nostalgic novel. Because in the darkest days of the Blitz, family is more important than ever.
43
Mother's Love
Can love see her through the darkness?'A heartwarming story of love and loss' Woman's WeeklyLiverpool, 1940: there comes a moment in every child's life when they must learn to stand on their own two feet. The death of her mother and the increase in air raids leaves Ellie alone and in grave danger.
44
Land of the Living
45
World on Fire
Their revolution would ignite a continent... An epic novel set during one of the most savage and dramatic moments in European history.
46
Memoir of an Anti-Hero
47
Summerland
She also has an ulterior motive: she needs to find a place called Summerland Hall where she hopes she will find the one person left alive who is deeply important to her. An extraordinary tale, with some events inspired by history, that encompasses truth, tolerance, racism and forgiveness.
48
Hidden
Her heart died in the war - can she breathe new life into it?
49
Eight Hours from England
Autumn 1943. Major John Overton accepts a posting behind enemy lines in Nazi-occupied Albania. As he struggles to complete his mission amidst a chaotic backdrop, Overton is left to ruminate on loyalty, comradeship and the futility of war.
50
Lost Outlaw (Jack Lark, Book 8)
The eighth action-packed Victorian military adventure featuring hero Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter.