Browse categories

Most popular True stories books

The most popular True stories books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Elephant in My Kitchen: What the herd taught me about love, courage and survival
A powerful, moving sequel to the bestselling The Elephant Whisperer that tells the story of one woman's fight to protect a herd of elephants.
2
Salt Path: The Sunday Times bestseller, shortlisted for the 2018 Costa Biography Award & The Wainwright Prize
3
Social Struggle: How we took over the Internet
@WoodyandKleiny have overcome broken homes and dreams and gone from filming blurry videos that get 100 views to become two of the world's biggest internet content creators, with more than 10 million followers across their social media platforms. Prepare to enter the world of WAK. It's a place where success is more than just luck.
4
Inside Broadmoor: The Sunday Times Bestseller
5
Lost Child: The True Story of a Girl who Couldn't Ask for Help
From the million-copy bestselling author comes the true story of a neglected little girl whose cries for attention have been met in all the wrong ways, until now.
6
Skripal Files: Putin, Poison and the New Spy War
From the heart of the cold war to the current hostilities between Russia and the West, this is the definitive account of the events that led to the Skripal poisoning.
7
Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.
8
Exposure
The remarkable David-against-Goliath story of the lawyer who took on industrial conglomerate DuPont in a huge class action - and won. Soon to be a major motion picture.
9
Five: The Untold Lives of the Women Killed by Jack the Ripper
10
Mindhunter: Inside the FBI Elite Serial Crime Unit (Now A Netflix Series)
Douglas invented and established the practice of criminal profiling, and submerged himself in the world of serial killers in a quest to understand why they killed, and to help prevent more innocent lives from being ended by future killers.
11
Falling Upwards: Inspiration for the Major Motion Picture the Aeronauts
12
On Chapel Sands: My mother and other missing persons
**Shortlisted for the Costa Biography Award 2019****SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER**'A modern masterpiece' GuardianUncovering the mystery of her mother's disappearance as a child: Laura Cumming, prize-winning author and art critic, takes a closer look at her family story.
13
Do the Birds Still Sing in Hell?: A powerful true story of love and survival
14
Boy Who Disappeared
15
Gangs of Britain - The Gripping True Stories Behind Britain's Organised Crime
16
Roaring Girls: The Forgotten Feminists of British History
'Extraordinary' Woman&HomeA Roaring Girl was loud when she should be quiet, disruptive when she should be submissive, sexual when she should be pure, 'masculine' when she should be 'feminine'. Meet the unsung heroines of British history who refused to play by the rules.
17
Long Flight Home: a heart-breaking and uplifting World War 2 love story
A moving, masterfully written story of love and sacrifice, inspired by the fascinating, yet little-known mission of carrier pigeons during WWII. Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Dear Mrs Bird.
18
Last Stone: A Masterclass in Criminal Interrogation
From the bestselling author of Killing Pablo, a haunting and gripping account of the true-life search for the perpetrator of a hideous crime-the abduction and likely murder of two young girls in 1975-and the skilful work of the cold case team that finally brought their kidnapper to justice.
19
Killing in the Consulate: Investigating the Life and Death of Jamal Khashoggi
The horrific true story of the murder of Jamal Khashoggi in the Saudi consulate: how it happened, why it happened and what happened next
20
Hunting Killers
I've been in the presence of people who have killed; I've been in rooms where people have been killed. Through tireless research and perseverance, Mark takes us on a journey of discovery gathering and pursuing new evidence, earning the trust of silent witnesses and sharing the personal toll this extraordinary job takes on him.
21
Trauma Cleaner
22
Please Don't Take My Sisters: The heartbreaking true story of a young boy terrified of losing the only family he has left
The heartbreaking story of three vulnerable, damaged siblings, and the big brother fighting to keep together the only family he has left.
23
Kursk: Film tie-in
But above all, he tells the nail-bitingly poignant human story of the families waiting ashore, of the desperate efforts of British, Norwegian and Russian rescuers, and of the Kursk sailors, trapped in the aft compartnemt, waiting for rescue, as a horrified world followed their battle to stay alive .
24
Fatal Passion of Alma Rattenbury
Adultery, alcoholism, drugs and murder on the suburban streets of Bournemouth.
25
Talking With Psychopaths and Savages: Beyond Evil
26
Boy Who Followed His Father into Auschwitz: The Number One Sunday Times Bestseller
27
Choice
THE AWARD-WINNING INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLERby Edith Eger, as seen on BBC Breakfast Even in hell, hope can flower'I'll be forever changed by her story' - Oprah Winfrey 'One of those rare and eternal stories you don't want to end' - Desmond Tutu'A masterpiece of holocaust literature.
28
In Cold Blood: A True Account of a Multiple Murder and its Consequences
Reconstructs the murder in 1959 of a Kansas farmer, his wife and both their children. In this title, the author's study of the killings and subsequent investigation explores the circumstances surrounding this terrible crime and the effect it had on those involved.
29
Chaos: Charles Manson, the CIA and the Secret History of the Sixties
In those two dark nights in Los Angeles, O'Neill finds the story of California in the sixties: when charlatans mixed with prodigies, free love was as possible as brainwashing, and utopia-or dystopia-was just an acid trip away.
30
Position of Trust: A football dream betrayed - Shortlisted for the 2019 William Hill Sports Book of the Year
A brave account by football's first whistle blower, breaking the silence on the scandal of sexual abuse in youth clubs and junior teams.
31
No Handcuffs: The Final Word on My War with The Krays
32
City of Devils: A Shanghai Noir
A spellbinding and dramatic account of Shanghai's lawless 1930s and two of its most notorious criminals, by the author of the prize winning Midnight in Peking
33
Love as Always, Mum xxx: The true and terrible story of surviving a childhood with Fred and Rose West
The true story of an abused childhood, of shocking brutality and life as the daughter of notorious serial killer, and master manipulator, Rose West.
34
Killers Behind Bars: Britain's Deadliest Murderers Tell Their Stories
35
Stronghold: One man's quest to save the world's wild salmon - before it's too late
36
Furious Hours: Murder, Fraud and the Last Trial of Harper Lee
37
Peaky Blinders - The Real Story of Birmingham's most notorious gangs: The No. 1 Sunday Times Bestseller
38
Molly the Pet Detective Dog: The true story of one amazing dog who reunites missing cats with their families
39
Murder, Interrupted: (Murder Is Forever: Volume 1)
Two true-crime cases from the hit TV series Murder is ForeverMURDER, INTERRUPTED. But when the bullet misses the mark, Billie Earl and Frank will turn on each other in a fight for their lives . But when Gypsy Rose realises she isn't actually sick and Dee Dee has lied all these years, the daughter exacts her revenge .
40
Bad Blood: Secrets and Lies in a Silicon Valley Startup
The shocking true story of the biggest corporate fraud since Enron, a gripping cautionary tale set amid the bold promises and gold-rush frenzy of Silicon Valley.
41
Killer's Confession: How I Brought My Daughter's Murderer to Justice
A mother's story behind one of the most dramatic true crime cases in recent history
42
Billion Dollar Whale: the man who fooled Wall Street, Hollywood, and the world
43
Green River, Running Red: The Real Story of the Green River Killer-America's Deadliest Serial Murderer
America's master of true crime presents her biggest book yet: the long-awaited story of the terrifying Green River killings, with more than 48 young women victims, and a murderer who hid his horrific addiction for two decades. of photos.
44
Things We Didn't Talk About When I Was a Girl
Fifteen years ago, Jeannie's relationship with a close friend ended in rape. With the rise of the #MeToo movement, recurring nightmares have returned and to process her conflicted feelings of betrayal she resolves to face her trauma head-on.
45
Hotel Scarface: Where Cocaine Cowboys Partied and Plotted to Control Miami
Hollywood royalty, rock stars, and models flocked to the hotel's club to order bottle after bottle of Dom and to snort lines alongside narcos, hit men, and gunrunners, all while marathon orgies burned upstairs in elaborate fantasy suites.
46
Library Book
The bestselling author of Rin Tin Tin and The Orchid Thief reopens the unsolved mystery of one of the most catastrophic library fires in history and delivers a dazzling love letter to a beloved institution - our libraries.
47
Outlaw Platoon: Heroes, Renegades, Infidels, and the Brotherhood of War in Afghanistan
A searing and unforgettable story of friendship in battle, this title brings to life the intensity and raw emotion of those sixteen months, showing how the fight reshaped the lives of author and his men and how the love and faith they found in one another ultimately kept them alive.
48
Cults: The World's Most Notorious Cults
The inside story of the world's most notorious cults.
49
Operation Jihadi Bride: My Covert Mission to Rescue Young Women from ISIS - The Incredible True Story
A thrilling and highly newsworthy military adventure in the burning rubble of Islamic State.
50
Manhunters: How We Took Down Pablo Escobar
The explosive memoir of legendary DEA agents and the subject of the hit Netflix series Narcos, Steve Murphy and Javier F. Pena