Browse categories

Most popular True stories books

The most popular True stories books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Volunteer: The True Story of the Resistance Hero who Infiltrated Auschwitz - The Costa Biography Award Winner 2019
2
Elephant in My Kitchen: What the herd taught me about love, courage and survival
A powerful, moving sequel to the bestselling The Elephant Whisperer that tells the story of one woman's fight to protect a herd of elephants.
3
Social Struggle: How we took over the Internet
@WoodyandKleiny have overcome broken homes and dreams and gone from filming blurry videos that get 100 views to become two of the world's biggest internet content creators, with more than 10 million followers across their social media platforms. Prepare to enter the world of WAK. It's a place where success is more than just luck.
4
Salt Path: The Sunday Times bestseller, shortlisted for the 2018 Costa Biography Award & The Wainwright Prize
5
Peaky Blinders - The Real Story of Birmingham's most notorious gangs: The No. 1 Sunday Times Bestseller
6
Lost Child: The True Story of a Girl who Couldn't Ask for Help
From the million-copy bestselling author comes the true story of a neglected little girl whose cries for attention have been met in all the wrong ways, until now.
7
Inside Broadmoor: The Sunday Times Bestseller
8
Wild Game: My Mother, Her Lover and Me
9
Touching The Void
What happened to Joe, and how the pair dealt with the psychological traumas that resulted when Simon was forced into the appalling decision to cut the rope, makes not only an epic of survival but a compelling testament of friendship.
10
Exposure
The remarkable David-against-Goliath story of the lawyer who took on industrial conglomerate DuPont in a huge class action - and won. Soon to be a major motion picture.
11
Skripal Files: The only book you need to read on the Salisbury Poisonings
From the heart of the cold war to the current hostilities between Russia and the West, this is the definitive account of the events that led to the Skripal poisoning.
12
Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.
13
Do the Birds Still Sing in Hell?: A powerful true story of love and survival
14
Falling Upwards: Inspiration for the Major Motion Picture the Aeronauts
15
Boy Who Disappeared
16
Gangs of Britain - The Gripping True Stories Behind Britain's Organised Crime
17
Long Flight Home: a heart-breaking and uplifting World War 2 love story
A moving, masterfully written story of love and sacrifice, inspired by the fascinating, yet little-known mission of carrier pigeons during WWII. Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Dear Mrs Bird.
18
Last Stone: A Masterclass in Criminal Interrogation
From the bestselling author of Killing Pablo, a haunting and gripping account of the true-life search for the perpetrator of a hideous crime-the abduction and likely murder of two young girls in 1975-and the skilful work of the cold case team that finally brought their kidnapper to justice.
19
Hunting Killers: o Britain's top crime investigator reveals how he solves the unsolvable
Through tireless research and perseverance, Mark takes us on a journey of discovery gathering and pursuing new evidence, earning the trust of silent witnesses and sharing the personal toll this extraordinary job takes on him.Mark's story is a relentless and inspiring one;
20
Kursk: Film tie-in
But above all, he tells the nail-bitingly poignant human story of the families waiting ashore, of the desperate efforts of British, Norwegian and Russian rescuers, and of the Kursk sailors, trapped in the aft compartnemt, waiting for rescue, as a horrified world followed their battle to stay alive .
21
Fatal Passion of Alma Rattenbury
Adultery, alcoholism, drugs and murder on the suburban streets of Bournemouth.
22
Roaring Girls: The Forgotten Feminists of British History
'Extraordinary' Woman&HomeA Roaring Girl was loud when she should be quiet, disruptive when she should be submissive, sexual when she should be pure, 'masculine' when she should be 'feminine'. Meet the unsung heroines of British history who refused to play by the rules.
23
Please Don't Take My Sisters: The heartbreaking true story of a young boy terrified of losing the only family he has left
The heartbreaking story of three vulnerable, damaged siblings, and the big brother fighting to keep together the only family he has left.
24
Epstein: Dead Men Tell No Tales
"This book is based on new evidence from the explosive hit podcast Epstein: Devil in the Darkness".
25
City of Devils: A Shanghai Noir
A spellbinding and dramatic account of Shanghai's lawless 1930s and two of its most notorious criminals, by the author of the prize winning Midnight in Peking
26
Boy Who Followed His Father into Auschwitz: The Number One Sunday Times Bestseller
27
Chaos: Charles Manson, the CIA and the Secret History of the Sixties
In those two dark nights in Los Angeles, O'Neill finds the story of California in the sixties: when charlatans mixed with prodigies, free love was as possible as brainwashing, and utopia-or dystopia-was just an acid trip away.
28
Position of Trust: A football dream betrayed - Shortlisted for the 2019 William Hill Sports Book of the Year
A brave account by football's first whistle blower, breaking the silence on the scandal of sexual abuse in youth clubs and junior teams.
29
Evil Beyond Belief: The True Story of Harold Shipman, Britain's most prolific serial killer
30
Love as Always, Mum xxx: The true and terrible story of surviving a childhood with Fred and Rose West
The true story of an abused childhood, of shocking brutality and life as the daughter of notorious serial killer, and master manipulator, Rose West.
31
Killing in the Consulate: Investigating the Life and Death of Jamal Khashoggi
The horrific true story of the murder of Jamal Khashoggi in the Saudi consulate: how it happened, why it happened and what happened next
32
Stronghold: One man's quest to save the world's wild salmon - before it's too late
33
Puppy No One Wanted: The young dog desperate for a home to call his own
A moving, heart-warming and redemptive true story that celebrates the healing power of love between humans and animals.
34
No Handcuffs: The Final Word on My War with The Krays
35
Five: The Untold Lives of the Women Killed by Jack the Ripper
36
Murder, Interrupted: (Murder Is Forever: Volume 1)
But when the bullet misses the mark, Billie Earl and Frank will turn on each other in a fight for their lives . But when Gypsy Rose realises she isn't actually sick and Dee Dee has lied all these years, the daughter exacts her revenge .
37
Boy in the Cellar
38
GUITAR MAN: SAM LI
39
Killers Behind Bars: Britain's Deadliest Murderers Tell Their Stories
40
Green River, Running Red: The Real Story of the Green River Killer-America's Deadliest Serial Murderer
America's master of true crime presents her biggest book yet: the long-awaited story of the terrifying Green River killings, with more than 48 young women victims, and a murderer who hid his horrific addiction for two decades. of photos.
41
Mindhunter: Inside the FBI Elite Serial Crime Unit (Now A Netflix Series)
THE BESTSELLING TRUE STORY THAT INSPIRED THE MAJOR NETFLIX SERIESFBI Special Agent and expert in criminal profiling and behavioural science, John Douglas, is a man who has looked evil in the eye and made a vocation of understanding it. Now retired, Douglas can let us inside the FBI elite serial crime unit and into the disturbed minds of some of the most savage serial killers in the world. The man who was the inspiration for Special Agent Jack Crawford in The Silence of the Lambs and who lent the film's makers his expertise explains how he invented and established the practice of criminal profiling; what it was like to submerge himself mentally in the world of serial killers to the point of 'becoming' both perpetrator and victim; and individual case histories including those of Jeffrey Dahmer, Charles Manson, Ted Bundy and the Atlanta child murders., With the fierce page-turning power of a bestselling novel, yet terrifyingly true, Mindhunter is a true crime classic. John Douglas knows more about serial killers than anybody in the world - Jonathan Demme, Director of The Silence of the Lambs A cracker of a book - Esquire
42
Crisis of Conscience: Whistleblowing in an Age of Fraud
A David-and-Goliath story for our times: the riveting account of the heroes who are fighting a rising tide of wrongdoing by the powerful, and showing us the path forward.
43
Hotel Scarface: Where Cocaine Cowboys Partied and Plotted to Control Miami
44
In Extremis: The Life of War Correspondent Marie Colvin
The gripping life story of the great war correspondent Marie Colvin told by one of her closest friendsSHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARDWINNER OF THE JAMES TAIT BLACK AWARD Marie Colvin was glamorous, hard-drinking, braver than the boys, with a troubled and rackety personal life.
45
Operation Jihadi Bride: My Covert Mission to Rescue Young Women from ISIS - The Incredible True Story
A thrilling and highly newsworthy military adventure in the burning rubble of Islamic State.
46
Killer's Confession: How I Brought My Daughter's Murderer to Justice
A mother's story behind one of the most dramatic true crime cases in recent history
47
Sabre Squadron
48
Things We Didn't Talk About When I Was a Girl
Fifteen years ago, Jeannie's relationship with a close friend ended in rape. With the rise of the #MeToo movement, recurring nightmares have returned and to process her conflicted feelings of betrayal she resolves to face her trauma head-on.
49
Judas: How a Sister's Testimony Brought Down a Criminal Mastermind
'One remarkable woman' The TimesIn 2013, Astrid Holleeder decided to testify against one of the world's highest-profile gangsters: her brother Willem.
50
Soulless: The Case Against R. Kelly