Browse categories
Home
  1. Biography & True Stories/
  2. True stories/
  3. True stories: discovery / historical / scientific

Most popular True stories: discovery / historical / scientific books

The most popular True stories: discovery / historical / scientific books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.
2
Falling Upwards: Inspiration for the Major Motion Picture the Aeronauts
3
Stronghold: One man's quest to save the world's wild salmon - before it's too late
4
Green River, Running Red: The Real Story of the Green River Killer-America's Deadliest Serial Murderer
America's master of true crime presents her biggest book yet: the long-awaited story of the terrifying Green River killings, with more than 48 young women victims, and a murderer who hid his horrific addiction for two decades. of photos.
5
Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys
A special updated anniversary edition of the classic account of the Apollo 11 trip to the moon.
6
Heart: A History: Shortlisted for the Wellcome Book Prize 2019
A doctor's inspiring obsession with the heart, combining history, gripping scenes from the operating theatre and a moving personal story
7
Two Sisters
In October 2013 two teenage sisters left Oslo for Syria. A powerful and gripping true account of a family torn apart - by the author of the international bestseller THE BOOKSELLER OF KABUL.
8
Little Book of Big Explorations: Adventures into the Unknown That Changed Everything
A collection of 150 mini essays of trailblazing journeys into the unknown that have had a profound effect on our understanding of the world, transformed the way we live and inspired generations.
9
Bastard Brigade: The True Story of the Renegade Scientists and Spies Who Sabotaged the Nazi Atomic Bomb
New York Times bestselling author Sam Kean tells the incredible story of how a renegade group of spies kept Hitler from obtaining his ultimate prize: a nuclear bomb.
10
Travels
The author was the most famous traveller of his time. His voyages began in 1271 with a visit to China, after which he served the Kublai Khan on numerous diplomatic missions. This book offers a fascinating glimpse of what he encountered abroad: unfamiliar religions, customs and societies.
11
WHERE ONCE WE STOOD: STORIES OF THE APOLLO ASTRONAUTS WHO WALKED ON THE MOON
12
Dirty John and Other True Stories of Outlaws and Outsiders
"The basis for the ... podcast and ... Bravo series"--Cover.
13
Mystery of the Exploding Teeth and Other Curiosities from the History of Medicine
"Delightfully horrifying."--Popular ScienceOne of Mental Floss's Best Books of 2018One of Science Friday's Best Science Books of 2018* A mysterious epidemic of dental explosions... * A teenage boy who got his wick stuck in a candlestick...
14
JFK: The Smoking Gun
Assassination? Conspiracy? Evidence of the shocking truth is finally revealed. 'Shocking new details'HERALD SUN
15
Heart: A History: Shortlisted for the Wellcome Book Prize 2019
A doctor's inspiring obsession with the heart, combining history, gripping scenes from the operating theatre and a moving personal story
16
What Doesn't Kill Us: how freezing water, extreme altitude, and environmental conditioning will renew our lost evolutionary strength
17
Dinosaur Artist: obsession, betrayal, and the quest for Earth's ultimate trophy
18
Targeted
In this explosive memoir, a political consultant and technology whistleblower reveals the disturbing truth about the multi-billion-dollar data industry, revealing to the public how companies are getting richer using our personal information and exposing how Cambridge Analytica exploited weaknesses in privacy laws to help elect Donald Trump.
19
Crossing: Sir Vivian Fuchs, Sir Edmund Hillary and the Trans-Antarctic Expedition 1953-58
The definitive account of Sir Vivian Fuchs and Sir Edmund Hillary's Trans-Antarctic Expedition, completed 60 years ago this year.
20
I You We Them: Journeys Beyond Evil: The Desk Killer in History and Today
A landmark historical investigation into crimes against humanity and the nature of evil that is over two decades in the making.
21
Wings of the Luftwaffe: Flying German Aircraft of World War II
22
Virusphere: From Common Colds to Ebola Epidemics - Why We Need the Viruses That Plague Us
A fascinating and long overdue examination of viruses - from what they are and what they do, to the vital role they have played in human history.
23
Travels
Marco Polo voyages began in 1271 with a visit to China, after which he served the Kublai Khan on numerous diplomatic missions. This translation gives an account of his travels and offers a glimpse of what he encountered abroad: unfamiliar religions, customs and societies; the spices and silks of the East; and wild beasts of faraway.
24
Feather Thief
25
Book Nobody Read
Part biography of a book and a man, part bibliographic and bibliophilic quest, Gingerich's The Book Nobody Read is an utterly captivating piece of writing, a testament to the power both of books and the love of books.
26
Brazen: Rebel Ladies Who Rocked The World
This book already feels like a classic, one to be loved by every girl who reads it from now until the end of time.' Rachel Cooke, The ObserverImmerse yourself in the captivating adventures of some of history's unsung heroines, whose stories are told through engaging voices, dazzling drawings and with startling wit.
27
Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.
28
Two Sisters
29
Mystery of the Exploding Teeth and Other Curiosities from the History of Medicine
"Delightfully horrifying."--Popular ScienceOne of Mental Floss's Best Books of 2018One of Science Friday's Best Science Books of 2018* A mysterious epidemic of dental explosions... * A teenage boy who got his wick stuck in a candlestick...
30
Two Sisters
In October 2013 two teenage sisters left Oslo for Syria. A powerful and gripping true account of a family torn apart - by the author of the international bestseller THE BOOKSELLER OF KABUL.
31
Letters from Alice: A Tale of Hardship and Hope. a Search for the Truth.
Two women. One secret. Will they be able to keep it under wraps?
32
Honeybee Heart Has Five Openings
A fascinating, insightful and inspiring account of a novice beekeeper's year of keeping a colony of honeybees, which will appeal to readers of H is For Hawk and The Outrun
33
Lady is a Spy: Virginia Hall, World War II's Most Dangerous Secret Agent
Learn about Virginia Hall, the "most dangerous of all Allied spies", in this exciting biography! In The Lady is a Spy, award-winning author Don Mitchell explores the fascinating life of America's greatest female spy. An extraordinary, in-depth look at a true hero.
34
Operation Big: The Race to Stop Hitler's A-Bomb
Explores the Cambridgeshire country house at the centre of a secret mission to stop Hitler's A-Bomb.
35
Not your Average Nurse: The Entertaining True Story of a Student Nurse in 1970s London
'Over time, I nursed victims of war, the posh, the poor, the famous and the infamous... Oh, the stories I can tell!' To a young girl the life of a nurse sounds exciting, but with long hours and short shrift it's never easy.
36
French Revolution and What Went Wrong
Legend has it that, in a few busy weeks in July 1789, a despotic king, his freeloading wife, and a horde of over-privileged aristocrats, were displaced and then humanely dispatched.
37
Devil's Teeth: The True Story of Great White Sharks
Scientists speculate they can live for 60 years and grow to a massive 20 feet long. There is one place on earth where it is possible to study great whites in the wild: a spooky outcrop of jagged rocks off the coast of San Francisco.
38
Interesting Narrative
The Interesting Narrative is a first-hand account of the horrors of slavery, published on the eve of the British abolition debate in 1789. The most important African autobiography of the 18th century, it recounts Equiano's adventures on land and sea. This edition's introduction surveys recent debates about Equiano's birthplace and identity.
39
Unnatural Murder: Poison In The Court Of James I: The Overbury Murder
Royal scandal, set against the background of the Jacobean court, involving love, bribery, poison, treachery and black magic - 'a hugely enjoyable book' (Lucy Hughes-Hallet).
40
In Pursuit: The Hunt for the Beltway Snipers
The true story of the Washington, DC, snipers, by the cop who took them down
41
Nepal Himalaya: The most mountainous of a singularly mountainous country
During 1949 and 1950 H.W. Tilman mounted pioneering expeditions to Nepal's Himalaya. He explored the Ganesh Himal, before moving on to the Jugal Himal and then an ambitious trip to Annapurna and Everest. Nepal Himalaya presents Tilman's sketches, encounters with yetis, trouble with porters and food, and his obsessive relationship with alcohol.
42
First Treasure Divers: The True Story of How Two Brothers Invented the Diving Helmet and Sought Sunken Treasure and Fame
Who invented the diving helmet? The First Treasure Divers reveals the true and fascinating story. It follows the lives of two brothers as they struggle to turn their newly-invented diving helmet to advantage and how they wrestle with apathetic and even hostile authorities for recognition of their invention.
43
Hunt for Martin Bormann
This ed. originally published: London: Leo Cooper, 1996.
44
Seaplane Years: A History of the Marine & Armament Experimental Establishment, 1920-1924, and the Marine Aircraft Experimental Establishment, 1924-1956
45
Modern Explorers
Exploration has never been more popular and any idea that there is nowhere left to explore is instantly disproved by the contemporary explorers who are showcased here. This title deals with this topic.
46
Indian Equator: Mark Twain's India Revisited
47
Belle: The True Story of Dido Belle
The inspiration behind the powerful new film starring Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Tom Wilkinson and Emily Watson, this is the story of Dido Belle, whose adoption by an aristocratic family challenged the conventions of 18th century England.
48
Noble Endeavours: The life of two countries, England and Germany, in many stories
The life of two countries, England and Germany, in many stories.
49
Ice with Everything: In climbing mountains or sailing the seas one often has to settle for less than one hoped
H.W. Tilman's book Ice with Everything describes three voyages that attempt to reach East Greenland's Scoresby Sound, 'the first comparatively humdrum, the second totally disastrous, and the third exceedingly troublesome'. Tilman loses his boat Sea Breeze, crushed between a rock and an ice floe, and replaces her with the pilot cutter, Baroque.
50
At the Coalface: The Memoir of a Pit Nurse
A heart-warming story of a woman who devoted her life to helping others. This is the memoir of Joan, who started nursing in the 1940s and whose experiences took her into the Yorkshire mining pits and through the tumult of the 1984-85 miners' strike.