Browse categories
Home
  1. Biography & True Stories/
  2. True stories/
  3. True stories: discovery / historical / scientific

Most popular True stories: discovery / historical / scientific books

The most popular True stories: discovery / historical / scientific books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Stronghold: One man's quest to save the world's wild salmon - before it's too late
2
Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys
A special updated anniversary edition of the classic account of the Apollo 11 trip to the moon.
3
Green River, Running Red: The Real Story of the Green River Killer-America's Deadliest Serial Murderer
America's master of true crime presents her biggest book yet: the long-awaited story of the terrifying Green River killings, with more than 48 young women victims, and a murderer who hid his horrific addiction for two decades. of photos.
4
Virusphere: From Common Colds to Ebola Epidemics - Why We Need the Viruses That Plague Us
A fascinating and long overdue examination of viruses - from what they are and what they do, to the vital role they have played in human history.
5
Heart: A History: Shortlisted for the Wellcome Book Prize 2019
A doctor's inspiring obsession with the heart, combining history, gripping scenes from the operating theatre and a moving personal story
6
Two Sisters
In October 2013 two teenage sisters left Oslo for Syria. A powerful and gripping true account of a family torn apart - by the author of the international bestseller THE BOOKSELLER OF KABUL.
7
Targeted
In this explosive memoir, a political consultant and technology whistleblower reveals the disturbing truth about the multi-billion-dollar data industry, revealing to the public how companies are getting richer using our personal information and exposing how Cambridge Analytica exploited weaknesses in privacy laws to help elect Donald Trump.
8
Bastard Brigade: The True Story of the Renegade Scientists and Spies Who Sabotaged the Nazi Atomic Bomb
New York Times bestselling author Sam Kean tells the incredible story of how a renegade group of spies kept Hitler from obtaining his ultimate prize: a nuclear bomb.
9
Travels
The author was the most famous traveller of his time. His voyages began in 1271 with a visit to China, after which he served the Kublai Khan on numerous diplomatic missions. This book offers a fascinating glimpse of what he encountered abroad: unfamiliar religions, customs and societies.
10
Dirty John and Other True Stories of Outlaws and Outsiders
"The basis for the ... podcast and ... Bravo series"--Cover.
11
What Doesn't Kill Us: how freezing water, extreme altitude, and environmental conditioning will renew our lost evolutionary strength
12
Dinosaur Artist: obsession, betrayal, and the quest for Earth's ultimate trophy
13
Heart: A History: Shortlisted for the Wellcome Book Prize 2019
A doctor's inspiring obsession with the heart, combining history, gripping scenes from the operating theatre and a moving personal story
14
Crossing: Sir Vivian Fuchs, Sir Edmund Hillary and the Trans-Antarctic Expedition 1953-58
The definitive account of Sir Vivian Fuchs and Sir Edmund Hillary's Trans-Antarctic Expedition, completed 60 years ago this year.
15
Feather Thief
16
Wings of the Luftwaffe: Flying German Aircraft of World War II
17
Mystery of the Exploding Teeth and Other Curiosities from the History of Medicine
"Delightfully horrifying."--Popular ScienceOne of Mental Floss's Best Books of 2018One of Science Friday's Best Science Books of 2018* A mysterious epidemic of dental explosions... * A teenage boy who got his wick stuck in a candlestick...
18
WHERE ONCE WE STOOD: STORIES OF THE APOLLO ASTRONAUTS WHO WALKED ON THE MOON
19
Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.
20
Travels
Marco Polo voyages began in 1271 with a visit to China, after which he served the Kublai Khan on numerous diplomatic missions. This translation gives an account of his travels and offers a glimpse of what he encountered abroad: unfamiliar religions, customs and societies; the spices and silks of the East; and wild beasts of faraway.
21
Two Sisters
22
Honeybee Heart Has Five Openings
A fascinating, insightful and inspiring account of a novice beekeeper's year of keeping a colony of honeybees, which will appeal to readers of H is For Hawk and The Outrun
23
Her Kind
24
Lady is a Spy: Virginia Hall, World War II's Most Dangerous Secret Agent
Learn about Virginia Hall, the "most dangerous of all Allied spies", in this exciting biography! In The Lady is a Spy, award-winning author Don Mitchell explores the fascinating life of America's greatest female spy. An extraordinary, in-depth look at a true hero.
25
Two Sisters
In October 2013 two teenage sisters left Oslo for Syria. A powerful and gripping true account of a family torn apart - by the author of the international bestseller THE BOOKSELLER OF KABUL.
26
Letters from Alice: A Tale of Hardship and Hope. a Search for the Truth.
Two women. One secret. Will they be able to keep it under wraps?
27
Not your Average Nurse: The Entertaining True Story of a Student Nurse in 1970s London
'Over time, I nursed victims of war, the posh, the poor, the famous and the infamous... Oh, the stories I can tell!' To a young girl the life of a nurse sounds exciting, but with long hours and short shrift it's never easy.
28
Rex v Edith Thompson: A Tale of Two Murders
The case of Edith Thompson and her lover Frederick Bywaters, both hanged for murder in 1923.
29
Operation Big: The Race to Stop Hitler's A-Bomb
Explores the Cambridgeshire country house at the centre of a secret mission to stop Hitler's A-Bomb.
30
Interesting Narrative
The Interesting Narrative is a first-hand account of the horrors of slavery, published on the eve of the British abolition debate in 1789. The most important African autobiography of the 18th century, it recounts Equiano's adventures on land and sea. This edition's introduction surveys recent debates about Equiano's birthplace and identity.
31
First Treasure Divers: The True Story of How Two Brothers Invented the Diving Helmet and Sought Sunken Treasure and Fame
Who invented the diving helmet? The First Treasure Divers reveals the true and fascinating story. It follows the lives of two brothers as they struggle to turn their newly-invented diving helmet to advantage and how they wrestle with apathetic and even hostile authorities for recognition of their invention.
32
Edward Wilson's Antarctic Notebooks
Dr. Edward A. Wilson (1872-1912) is widely regarded as one of the finest artists ever to have worked in the Antarctic. Sailing with Captain Scott aboard 'Discovery' (1901-1904), he became the last in a long tradition of 'exploration artists' from an age when pencil and water-colour were the main methods of producing accurate scientific records
33
Belle: The True Story of Dido Belle
The inspiration behind the powerful new film starring Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Tom Wilkinson and Emily Watson, this is the story of Dido Belle, whose adoption by an aristocratic family challenged the conventions of 18th century England.
34
Book Nobody Read
Part biography of a book and a man, part bibliographic and bibliophilic quest, Gingerich's The Book Nobody Read is an utterly captivating piece of writing, a testament to the power both of books and the love of books.
35
Arabia Felix
36
Brazen: Rebel Ladies Who Rocked The World
This book already feels like a classic, one to be loved by every girl who reads it from now until the end of time.' Rachel Cooke, The ObserverImmerse yourself in the captivating adventures of some of history's unsung heroines, whose stories are told through engaging voices, dazzling drawings and with startling wit.
37
French Revolution and What Went Wrong
Legend has it that, in a few busy weeks in July 1789, a despotic king, his freeloading wife, and a horde of over-privileged aristocrats, were displaced and then humanely dispatched.
38
Rex v Edith Thompson: A Tale of Two Murders
The case of Edith Thompson and her lover Frederick Bywaters, both hanged for murder in 1923.
39
Flights into the Night: Reminiscences of a World War II RAF Wellington Pilot
40
And the Band Played On: The enthralling account of what happened after the Titanic sank: The enthralling account of what happened after the Titanic sank
AND THE BAND PLAYED ON brings to life the trauma of the Titanic through the true story of one family.
41
Indian Equator: Mark Twain's India Revisited
42
Loss of the Titanic: I Survived the Titanic
'The best first-hand account of a passenger's experiences - a first-rate piece of descriptive writing' THE GUARDIAN
43
Ice with Everything: In climbing mountains or sailing the seas one often has to settle for less than one hoped
H.W. Tilman's book Ice with Everything describes three voyages that attempt to reach East Greenland's Scoresby Sound, 'the first comparatively humdrum, the second totally disastrous, and the third exceedingly troublesome'. Tilman loses his boat Sea Breeze, crushed between a rock and an ice floe, and replaces her with the pilot cutter, Baroque.
44
Sins of Jack Saul: The True Story of Dublin Jack and the Cleveland Street Scandal
Biography of Victorian male prostitute
45
Grand Tour Guide to the World
The world is a big place full of interesting things. And The Grand Tour has seen some of them. That's why few people are better placed to lead you around this vast planet of ours than Jeremy Clarkson, Richard Hammond and James May. As long as you don't mind getting hot and lost. Welcome, everyone, to The Grand Tour Guide to The World.
46
Unnatural Murder: Poison In The Court Of James I: The Overbury Murder
Royal scandal, set against the background of the Jacobean court, involving love, bribery, poison, treachery and black magic - 'a hugely enjoyable book' (Lucy Hughes-Hallet).
47
In Pursuit: The Hunt for the Beltway Snipers
The true story of the Washington, DC, snipers, by the cop who took them down
48
Fabulous Flying Mrs Miller: a true story of adventure, danger, romance and derring-do
49
Nepal Himalaya: The most mountainous of a singularly mountainous country
During 1949 and 1950 H.W. Tilman mounted pioneering expeditions to Nepal's Himalaya. He explored the Ganesh Himal, before moving on to the Jugal Himal and then an ambitious trip to Annapurna and Everest. Nepal Himalaya presents Tilman's sketches, encounters with yetis, trouble with porters and food, and his obsessive relationship with alcohol.
50
Grumman F9F Panther/Cougar: First Jet of the Grumman Cats