Browse categories
Home
  1. Biography & True Stories/
  2. True stories/
  3. True stories: discovery / historical / scientific

Most popular True stories: discovery / historical / scientific books

The most popular True stories: discovery / historical / scientific books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.
2
Falling Upwards: Inspiration for the Major Motion Picture the Aeronauts
3
Stronghold: One man's quest to save the world's wild salmon - before it's too late
4
Green River, Running Red: The Real Story of the Green River Killer-America's Deadliest Serial Murderer
America's master of true crime presents her biggest book yet: the long-awaited story of the terrifying Green River killings, with more than 48 young women victims, and a murderer who hid his horrific addiction for two decades. of photos.
5
Heart: A History: Shortlisted for the Wellcome Book Prize 2019
A doctor's inspiring obsession with the heart, combining history, gripping scenes from the operating theatre and a moving personal story
6
Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys
A special updated anniversary edition of the classic account of the Apollo 11 trip to the moon.
7
Two Sisters
In October 2013 two teenage sisters left Oslo for Syria. A powerful and gripping true account of a family torn apart - by the author of the international bestseller THE BOOKSELLER OF KABUL.
8
Impossible First: From Fire to Ice-Crossing Antarctica Alone
Colin O'Brady's awe-inspiring memoir spans his triumphant recovery from a tragic accident to his gripping 932-mile solo crossing of Antarctica.
9
Mystery of the Exploding Teeth and Other Curiosities from the History of Medicine
10
Bastard Brigade: The True Story of the Renegade Scientists and Spies Who Sabotaged the Nazi Atomic Bomb
New York Times bestselling author Sam Kean tells the incredible story of how a renegade group of spies kept Hitler from obtaining his ultimate prize: a nuclear bomb.
11
Little Book of Big Explorations: Adventures into the Unknown That Changed Everything
A collection of 150 mini essays of trailblazing journeys into the unknown that have had a profound effect on our understanding of the world, transformed the way we live and inspired generations.
12
Dirty John and Other True Stories of Outlaws and Outsiders
"The basis for the ... podcast and ... Bravo series"--Cover.
13
Travels
The author was the most famous traveller of his time. His voyages began in 1271 with a visit to China, after which he served the Kublai Khan on numerous diplomatic missions. This book offers a fascinating glimpse of what he encountered abroad: unfamiliar religions, customs and societies.
14
What Doesn't Kill Us: the bestselling guide to transforming your body by unlocking your lost evolutionary strength
15
JFK: The Smoking Gun
Assassination? Conspiracy? Evidence of the shocking truth is finally revealed. 'Shocking new details'HERALD SUN
16
Heart: A History: Shortlisted for the Wellcome Book Prize 2019
A doctor's inspiring obsession with the heart, combining history, gripping scenes from the operating theatre and a moving personal story
17
Dinosaur Artist: obsession, betrayal, and the quest for Earth's ultimate trophy
18
Virusphere: From Common Colds to Ebola Epidemics - Why We Need the Viruses That Plague Us
A fascinating and long overdue examination of viruses - from what they are and what they do, to the vital role they have played in human history.
19
Crossing: Sir Vivian Fuchs, Sir Edmund Hillary and the Trans-Antarctic Expedition 1953-58
The definitive account of Sir Vivian Fuchs and Sir Edmund Hillary's Trans-Antarctic Expedition, completed 60 years ago this year.
20
Brexit Chronicles: Tales of Treachery and Skulduggery
Read the plot, click to watch the newsreel or see excerpts of speeches from those in charge. Paul McQueen joins all the dots of the Brexit story, bringing it to life. Guiding you through the tales of treachery and skulduggery leading us to the Brexit betrayal. How will the UK leaving, swing the balance of power away from Germany?
21
Feather Thief
22
Wings of the Luftwaffe: Flying German Aircraft of World War II
23
Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.
24
Lady is a Spy: Virginia Hall, World War II's Most Dangerous Secret Agent
Learn about Virginia Hall, the "most dangerous of all Allied spies", in this exciting biography! In The Lady is a Spy, award-winning author Don Mitchell explores the fascinating life of America's greatest female spy. An extraordinary, in-depth look at a true hero.
25
Book Nobody Read
Part biography of a book and a man, part bibliographic and bibliophilic quest, Gingerich's The Book Nobody Read is an utterly captivating piece of writing, a testament to the power both of books and the love of books.
26
Two Sisters
27
Travels
Marco Polo voyages began in 1271 with a visit to China, after which he served the Kublai Khan on numerous diplomatic missions. This translation gives an account of his travels and offers a glimpse of what he encountered abroad: unfamiliar religions, customs and societies; the spices and silks of the East; and wild beasts of faraway.
28
Two Sisters
In October 2013 two teenage sisters left Oslo for Syria. A powerful and gripping true account of a family torn apart - by the author of the international bestseller THE BOOKSELLER OF KABUL.
29
Mystery of the Exploding Teeth and Other Curiosities from the History of Medicine
30
I You We Them: Journeys Beyond Evil: The Desk Killer in History and Today
31
Edward Wilson's Antarctic Notebooks
Dr. Edward A. Wilson (1872-1912) is widely regarded as one of the finest artists ever to have worked in the Antarctic. Sailing with Captain Scott aboard 'Discovery' (1901-1904), he became the last in a long tradition of 'exploration artists' from an age when pencil and water-colour were the main methods of producing accurate scientific records
32
Honeybee Heart Has Five Openings
A fascinating, insightful and inspiring account of a novice beekeeper's year of keeping a colony of honeybees, which will appeal to readers of H is For Hawk and The Outrun
33
Ice with Everything: In climbing mountains or sailing the seas one often has to settle for less than one hoped
H.W. Tilman's book Ice with Everything describes three voyages that attempt to reach East Greenland's Scoresby Sound, 'the first comparatively humdrum, the second totally disastrous, and the third exceedingly troublesome'. Tilman loses his boat Sea Breeze, crushed between a rock and an ice floe, and replaces her with the pilot cutter, Baroque.
34
Letters from Alice: A Tale of Hardship and Hope. a Search for the Truth.
Two women. One secret. Will they be able to keep it under wraps?
35
Targeted
In this explosive memoir, a political consultant and technology whistleblower reveals the disturbing truth about the multi-billion-dollar data industry, revealing to the public how companies are getting richer using our personal information and exposing how Cambridge Analytica exploited weaknesses in privacy laws to help elect Donald Trump.
36
WHERE ONCE WE STOOD: STORIES OF THE APOLLO ASTRONAUTS WHO WALKED ON THE MOON
37
Grand Tour Guide to the World
The world is a big place full of interesting things. And The Grand Tour has seen some of them. That's why few people are better placed to lead you around this vast planet of ours than Jeremy Clarkson, Richard Hammond and James May. As long as you don't mind getting hot and lost. Welcome, everyone, to The Grand Tour Guide to The World.
38
Brazen: Rebel Ladies Who Rocked The World
Illustrated by award-winning Parisian artist Penelope Bagieu, humorous dialogue and uncommon true tales make Brazen an ideal book for anyone who loves trail blazers and courageous women, from Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls to The Handmaid's Tale.
39
And the Band Played On: The enthralling account of what happened after the Titanic sank: The enthralling account of what happened after the Titanic sank
AND THE BAND PLAYED ON brings to life the trauma of the Titanic through the true story of one family.
40
Operation Big: The Race to Stop Hitler's A-Bomb
Explores the Cambridgeshire country house at the centre of a secret mission to stop Hitler's A-Bomb.
41
French Revolution and What Went Wrong
Legend has it that, in a few busy weeks in July 1789, a despotic king, his freeloading wife, and a horde of over-privileged aristocrats, were displaced and then humanely dispatched.
42
Not your Average Nurse: The Entertaining True Story of a Student Nurse in 1970s London
To a young girl the life of a nurse sounds exciting, but with long hours and short shrift it's never easy. So when Maggie Groff embarks on her training at London's King's College Hospital she must quickly get to grips with a demanding career. It's sink or swim.
43
First Treasure Divers: The True Story of How Two Brothers Invented the Diving Helmet and Sought Sunken Treasure and Fame
Who invented the diving helmet? The First Treasure Divers reveals the true and fascinating story. It follows the lives of two brothers as they struggle to turn their newly-invented diving helmet to advantage and how they wrestle with apathetic and even hostile authorities for recognition of their invention.
44
Devil's Teeth: The True Story of Great White Sharks
A New York Times Bestseller. Great white sharks are enigmas. This godforsaken island is home to a handful of shark-obsessed scientists, ready to endanger their lives just to get close. This is a riveting adventure about great white sharks and the power they have over us.
45
Indian Equator: Mark Twain's India Revisited
46
Interesting Narrative
The Interesting Narrative is a first-hand account of the horrors of slavery, published on the eve of the British abolition debate in 1789. The most important African autobiography of the 18th century, it recounts Equiano's adventures on land and sea. This edition's introduction surveys recent debates about Equiano's birthplace and identity.
47
Unnatural Murder: Poison In The Court Of James I: The Overbury Murder
Royal scandal, set against the background of the Jacobean court, involving love, bribery, poison, treachery and black magic - 'a hugely enjoyable book' (Lucy Hughes-Hallet).
48
Small Place
49
Rocket Men: the daring odyssey of Apollo 8 and the astronauts who made man's first journey to the moon
50
In Pursuit: The Hunt for the Beltway Snipers
The true story of the Washington, DC, snipers, by the cop who took them down