Browse categories

Most popular Society & social sciences books

The most popular Society & social sciences books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Educated: The Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling memoir
2
Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind
**THE MILLION COPY BESTSELLER** What makes us brilliant?
3
Prisoners of Geography: Ten Maps That Tell You Everything You Need to Know About Global Politics
A popular take on world events that puts the 'geo' back into geopolitics
4
Toe by Toe: A Highly Structured Multi-sensory Reading Manual for Teachers and Parents
Toe by Toe
5
Power of 2: The One to One Coaching System for Maths Success
6
Culture Map: Decoding How People Think, Lead, and Get Things Done Across Cultures
"[A]bounds with well-chosen anecdotes...enlightening...a pleasure to read." -Foreign Affairs
7
Chastise: The Dambusters Story 1943
A masterly history of the Dambusters raid from bestselling and critically acclaimed Max Hastings.
8
Elephant in My Kitchen: What the herd taught me about love, courage and survival
A powerful, moving sequel to the bestselling The Elephant Whisperer that tells the story of one woman's fight to protect a herd of elephants.
9
Macmillan Student Planner 2019-20: Academic Diary
Formerly published as The Palgrave Student Planner, it contains everything students need to organise their information and time effectively, including study skills advice, week-to-view diary pages, habit trackers, personal finance guidance, timetables, useful contacts and websites, spelling rules, notes pages and much more.
10
Hard Way: Adapt, Survive and Win
A searing, raw and honest memoir of television's greatest SAS veteran. Sergeant Major Mark 'Billy' Billingham recounts his life, twenty-seven years of military service as an elite soldier, and new-found fame on the hugely successful Channel Four series SAS: Who dares Wins.
11
Blind Man's Brexit: How the EU Took Control of Brexit
The inside story of the Brexit negotiations - from the EU side, showing how and why the UK got it so badly wrong
12
No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference: Illustrated Edition
13
Choose Your Own Apocalypse With Kim Jong-un & Friends
The world is going to hell in a handcart; at least with this book by bestselling author of The Beautiful Poetry of Donald Trump, you get to choose how it ends. The perfect stocking filler
14
Ladybird Book About Donald Trump
15
Know My Name
16
Fifth Risk: Undoing Democracy
17
Social Struggle: How we took over the Internet
@WoodyandKleiny have overcome broken homes and dreams and gone from filming blurry videos that get 100 views to become two of the world's biggest internet content creators, with more than 10 million followers across their social media platforms. Prepare to enter the world of WAK. It's a place where success is more than just luck.
18
Crime in Progress: The Secret History of the Trump-Russia Investigation
19
AQA Psychology for A Level Year 1 & AS - Revision Guide
Written by leading psychology author Cara Flanagan and a highly experienced author team. This portable-sized Revision Guide for AQA A Level Psychology Year 1 & AS is just what you need to consolidate your knowledge for revision. It combines brilliantly with the Flashbook and Revision App.
20
American Marriage: WINNER OF THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION, 2019
The stunning and heart-breaking New York Times bestseller
21
AQA Psychology for A Level Year 2 Revision Guide
Written by leading psychology author Cara Flanagan and an experienced author team. This portable-sized Revision Guide for AQA Psychology A Level Year 2 is just what you need to consolidate your knowledge for revision. It combines brilliantly with the A Level Year 2 Student Book, Flashbook and Revision App.
22
Lost Connections: Why You're Depressed and How to Find Hope
Lost Connections<br>THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER'A book that could actually make us happy' SIMON AMSTELL'This amazing book will change your life' ELTON JOHN'One of the most important texts of recent years' BRITISH JOURNAL OF GENERAL PRACTICE'Brilliant, stimulating, radical' MATT HAIG'The more people read this book, the better off the world will be' NAOMI KLEIN'Wonderful' HILLARY CLINTON'Eye-opening' GUARDIAN'Brilliant for anyone wanting a better understanding of mental health' ZOE BALL'A game-changer' DAVINA MCCALL'Extraordinary' DR MAX PEMBERTON'Beautiful' RUSSELL BRANDDepression and anxiety are now at epidemic levels. Why? Across the world, scientists have uncovered evidence for nine different causes. Some are in our biology, but most are in the way we are living today.Lost Connections offers a radical new way of thinking about this crisis. It shows that once we understand the real causes, we can begin to turn to pioneering new solutions - ones that offer real hope.<br>
23
Gulag Archipelago
PETERSON'Solzhenitsyn's masterpiece...The Gulag Archipelago helped create the world we live in today' Anne Applebaum A vast canvas of camps, prisons, transit centres and secret police, of informers and spies and interrogators but also of everyday heroism, The Gulag Archipelago is Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn's grand masterwork.
24
Impeach: The Case Against Donald Trump
President Trump has left the US people with no choice but to remove him from office: so explains celebrated Supreme Court lawyer and former Acting Solicitor General Neal Katyal
25
Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know about the People We Don't Know
26
Life in the UK Test: Study Guide 2020: The essential study guide for the British citizenship test
Contains the complete official study materials reproduced from Life in the United Kingdom: A guide for new residents 3rd edition, practice tests, expert study advice and diagrams. Purchasers get a free subscription to online tests at www.lifeintheuk.net. Everything you need to pass the test with confidence in one book.
27
Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls 2019 Square Wall Calendar
The Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls 2019 calendar features stunning portraits of thirteen incredible women who have helped change the world. Illustrated by female artists from around the globe, the calendar captures the individual spirits of authors, scientists, activists, artists, athletes, and other heroic women-both past and present-who have pushed boundaries to expand options and encourage bigger dreams for girls and women everywhere.
28
Hitler: Only the World Was Enough
29
How to be British Collection
With standardising our food, our social customs and even our language, where can the overseas visitor find a truly British experience? The answer lies in "The How To Be British Collection".
30
Decline and Fail: Read in Case of Political Apocalypse
This unremittingly entertaining collection of John Crace's lifegiving political sketches will get you through the darkest of days - or failing that, will at least help you see the funny side.
31
WJEC Level 3 Applied Certificate & Diploma Criminology
Written by an experienced Criminology teacher and examiner, and endorsed by WJEC, this student book offers high quality support you can trust. Suitable for both the Certificate and Diploma.
32
Shortest History of Germany
Read in an afternoon. Remember for a lifetime. In his acclaimed new bestseller, now in paperback, James Hawes tells the story of Europe's most admired and feared country, from Julius Caesar to Angela Merkel. With more than 100 maps and images, this is a fresh, concise and entertaining attempt to answer the question: are the Germans really us, or them? Product Information: ISBN: 9781910400739 Author: James Hawes Publisher: Old Street Publishing Format: Paperback Pages: 228 Dimensions: 20 x 13 x 2cm
33
Story of Brexit
34
Mindf*ck: Inside Cambridge Analytica's Plot to Break the World
35
Killer You Know: The absolutely gripping thriller that will keep you guessing
A gripping, atmospheric debut psychological thriller - perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, Alex Marwood and Ali Land.
36
Thinking, Fast and Slow
Looks at the way our minds work, and how we make decisions. Why is there more chance we'll believe something if it's in a bold type face? Why are judges more likely to deny parole before lunch? Why do we assume a good-looking person will be more competent? This book enables to you make better decisions at work, at home, and in everything you do.
37
Art of Rest: How to Find Respite in the Modern Age
Drawing on brand new research, this is an examination of rest and why it matters from Radio 4's voice of psychology
38
Heroes: The myths of the Ancient Greek heroes retold
39
Warning
An unprecedented behind-the-scenes portrait of the Trump presidency from the anonymous senior official whose first words of warning about the president rocked the nation's capital.
40
AQA Psychology for A Level Year 2 - Student Book
Written by leading psychology author, Cara Flanagan and an experienced author team, this Student Book for A Level Yr 2 has been approved by AQA. Its engaging visual style and tone will support you through every step of the course and help you prepare thoroughly for your exams.
41
Half Baked Idea: How grief, love and cake took me from the courtroom to Le Cordon Bleu
42
Prisoners of Geography: Our World Explained in 12 Simple Maps
A stunning abridged and illustrated edition of the international bestseller Prisoners of Geography, by acclaimed author Tim Marshall
43
Rosenshine's Principles in Action
In this concise new guide, Barack Rosenshine fan Tom Sherrington amplifies and augments the famous 'Principles of Instruction' paper and further demonstrates how they can be put into practice in everyday classrooms.
44
The Age of Football: The Global Game in the Twenty-first Century
The critically acclaimed global story of football in the twenty-first century.
45
Led by Donkeys: How four friends with a ladder took on Brexit
**Sunday Times bestseller**Fully-illustrated official account of Twitter sensation 'Led By Donkeys' that exposed the hypocrisies of the Brexit debacle using our leaders' words.
46
Human Compatible: AI and the Problem of Control
47
Really?
48
Night Fire: The Brand New Ballard and Bosch Thriller
Crime doesn't come better than Connelly: the brand new blockbuster from the crime-thriller powerhouse.
49
This Is Not A Drill: An Extinction Rebellion Handbook
50
Theory and Practice : A Straightforward Guide for Social Work Students
<p>This is the third edition of this popular straightforward guide for social work students. Written by two experienced practice educators, the book is designed to address the anxieties that many social work students have about social work theory and the way it relates to practice.</p>