Browse categories

Most popular Society & social sciences books

The most popular Society & social sciences books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Thinking, Fast and Slow
Looks at the way our minds work, and how we make decisions. Why is there more chance we'll believe something if it's in a bold type face? Why are judges more likely to deny parole before lunch? Why do we assume a good-looking person will be more competent? This book enables to you make better decisions at work, at home, and in everything you do.
2
Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind
THE MILLION COPY BESTSELLERFire gave us power. This is the thrilling account of our extraordinary history - from insignificant apes to rulers of the world. `I would recommend Sapiens to anyone who's interested in the history and future of our species' Bill Gates**ONE OF THE GUARDIAN'S 100 BEST BOOKS OF THE 21st CENTURY**
3
Prisoners of Geography: Ten Maps That Tell You Everything You Need to Know About Global Politics
A popular take on world events that puts the 'geo' back into geopolitics
4
Invisible Women: Exposing Data Bias in a World Designed for Men
From government policy and medical research, to technology, workplaces, urban planning and the media, Invisible Women reveals the biased data that excludes women.
5
AQA A Level Sociology Book One Including AS Level
AQA A level sociology book one including AS level
6
AQA Psychology for A Level Year 1 & AS - Student Book
Written by Cara Flanagan and an experienced author team, this Student Book has been approved by AQA. Designed to be motivating and student-friendly, its engaging visual style and tone will support you through every step of the course and help you prepare thoroughly for your exams.
7
AQA Psychology for A Level Year 2 - Student Book
Written by leading psychology author, Cara Flanagan and an experienced author team, this Student Book for A Level Yr 2 has been approved by AQA. Its engaging visual style and tone will support you through every step of the course and help you prepare thoroughly for your exams.
8
AQA Psychology for A Level Year 2 Revision Guide
Written by leading psychology author Cara Flanagan and an experienced author team. This portable-sized Revision Guide for AQA Psychology A Level Year 2 is just what you need to consolidate your knowledge for revision. It combines brilliantly with the A Level Year 2 Student Book, Flashbook and Revision App.
9
Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow
THE MILLION COPY BESTSELLERSapiens shows us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going. Homo Deus explores the projects, dreams and nightmares that will shape the twenty-first century and beyond - from overcoming death to creating artificial life. It will make you think in ways you had not thought before' Daniel Kahneman
10
Lost Connections: Why You're Depressed and How to Find Hope
Lost Connections<br>THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER'A book that could actually make us happy' SIMON AMSTELL'This amazing book will change your life' ELTON JOHN'One of the most important texts of recent years' BRITISH JOURNAL OF GENERAL PRACTICE'Brilliant, stimulating, radical' MATT HAIG'The more people read this book, the better off the world will be' NAOMI KLEIN'Wonderful' HILLARY CLINTON'Eye-opening' GUARDIAN'Brilliant for anyone wanting a better understanding of mental health' ZOE BALL'A game-changer' DAVINA MCCALL'Extraordinary' DR MAX PEMBERTON'Beautiful' RUSSELL BRANDDepression and anxiety are now at epidemic levels. Why? Across the world, scientists have uncovered evidence for nine different causes. Some are in our biology, but most are in the way we are living today.Lost Connections offers a radical new way of thinking about this crisis. It shows that once we understand the real causes, we can begin to turn to pioneering new solutions - ones that offer real hope.<br>
11
American Marriage: WINNER OF THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION, 2019
The stunning and heart-breaking New York Times bestseller
12
Salt Path: The Sunday Times bestseller, shortlisted for the 2018 Costa Biography Award & The Wainwright Prize
13
Chastise: The Dambusters Story 1943
A brand new history of the Dambusters raid from best-selling and critically acclaimed military historian, Max Hastings.
14
Way Past Winter
When Mila's brother disappears, she believes he's been taken by the Bear, a hooded stranger of legend who sought shelter at their home. Mila and her sisters follow his trail into the frozen north, determined to find a way past winter and bring their brother home.
15
Elephant in My Kitchen: What the herd taught me about love, courage and survival
A powerful, moving sequel to the bestselling The Elephant Whisperer that tells the story of one woman's fight to protect a herd of elephants.
16
Heroes: The myths of the Ancient Greek heroes retold
17
Macmillan Student Planner 2019-20: Academic Diary
Formerly published as The Palgrave Student Planner, it contains everything students need to organise their information and time effectively, including study skills advice, week-to-view diary pages, habit trackers, personal finance guidance, timetables, useful contacts and websites, spelling rules, notes pages and much more.
18
Book of Gutsy Women: Favourite Stories of Courage and Resilience
Hillary Rodham Clinton and her daughter, Chelsea, share the stories of the gutsy women who have inspired them-women with the courage to stand up to the status quo, ask hard questions, and get the job done.
19
Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know about the People We Don't Know
20
Blind Man's Brexit: How the EU Took Control of Brexit
The inside story of the Brexit negotiations - from the EU side, showing how and why the UK got it so badly wrong
21
No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference
22
Choose Your Own Apocalypse With Kim Jong-un & Friends
The world is going to hell in a handcart; at least with this book by bestselling author of The Beautiful Poetry of Donald Trump, you get to choose how it ends
23
Know My Name
24
Mindf*ck: Inside Cambridge Analytica's Plot to Break the World
25
Power of 2: The One to One Coaching System for Maths Success
26
Gulag Archipelago
PETERSON'Solzhenitsyn's masterpiece...The Gulag Archipelago helped create the world we live in today' Anne Applebaum A vast canvas of camps, prisons, transit centres and secret police, of informers and spies and interrogators but also of everyday heroism, The Gulag Archipelago is Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn's grand masterwork.
27
Educated: The Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling memoir
28
Good Night Stories For Rebel Girls 2
100 new bedtime stories, each inspired by the life and adventures of extraordinary women from Nefertiti to Beyonce. The unique narrative style of "Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls" transforms each biography in a fairy-tale, filling the readers with wonder and with a burning curiosity to know more about each hero.
29
WJEC Level 3 Applied Certificate & Diploma Criminology
Written by an experienced Criminology teacher and examiner, and endorsed by WJEC, this student book offers high quality support you can trust. Suitable for both the Certificate and Diploma.
30
Becoming
In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of the United States of America - the first African-American to serve in that role - she helped create the most welcoming and inclusive White House in history, while also establishing herself as a powerful advocate for women and girls in the U.S. and around the world, dramatically changing the ways that families pursue healthier and more active lives, and standing with her husband as he led America through some of its most harrowing moments. Along the way, she showed us a few dance moves, crushed Carpool Karaoke, and raised two down-to-earth daughters under an unforgiving media glare. Product Information: ISBN: 9780241334140 Author: Michelle Obama Publisher: Penguin Format: Hardback Pages: 426 Dimensions: 24 x 16 x 4cm
31
School of Life: An Emotional Education
32
Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls 2019 Square Wall Calendar
The Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls 2019 calendar features stunning portraits of thirteen incredible women who have helped change the world. Illustrated by female artists from around the globe, the calendar captures the individual spirits of authors, scientists, activists, artists, athletes, and other heroic women-both past and present-who have pushed boundaries to expand options and encourage bigger dreams for girls and women everywhere.
33
Hitler: Only the World Was Enough
34
Factfulness: Ten Reasons We're Wrong About The World - And Why Things Are Better Than You Think
'A hopeful book about the potential for human progress when we work off facts rather than our inherent biases.' BARACK OBAMATimely, short and essential, FACTFULNESS reveals the power of facts in a post-truth world, by late international sensation Hans Rosling ('a true inspiration' - Bill Gates) and his long-term collaborators Ola and Anna.
35
Age of Surveillance Capitalism: The Fight for a Human Future at the New Frontier of Power
36
Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race: The Sunday Times Bestseller
37
The Age of Football: The Global Game in the Twenty-first Century
The critically acclaimed global story of football in the twenty-first century.
38
Winter of the Witch
A magical and captivating coming of age novel set in medieval Russia - perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials. Vasilisa, a girl with extraordinary gifts, must flee for her life, pursued by those who blame their misfortune on her magic.
39
Killer You Know: The absolutely gripping thriller that will keep you guessing
A gripping, atmospheric debut psychological thriller - perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, Alex Marwood and Ali Land.
40
Really?
41
Globalization: A Very Short Introduction
'Globalization' is one of the defining buzzwords of our time, describing a variety of accelerating economic, political, and cultural processes that constantly change our experience of the world. The fourth edition of this Very Short Introduction provides an exploration of both the causes and effects of the phenomenon.
42
Half Baked Idea: How grief, love and cake took me from the courtroom to Le Cordon Bleu
43
She Said: Breaking the Sexual Harassment Story That Helped Ignite a Movement
44
Story of Brexit
45
This Is Not A Drill: An Extinction Rebellion Handbook
46
Ladybird Book About Donald Trump
47
Spitfire: A Very British Love Story
Spitfire: A remarkable aircraft flown by very brave men. This is their story.
48
Everything I Know About Love
49
Mueller Report
April 30, 2019 is the expected publication date for The Mueller Report trade paperback. The ebook will be published on April 19th. The only book with exclusive analysis by the Pulitzer Prize-winning staff of the Washington Post, and the most complete and authoritative available.
50
AQA A Level Sociology
The new book for the 2015 specification; released in April 2016.