Browse categories
Home
  1. Fiction/
  2. Adventure/
  3. War & combat fiction/
  4. Second World War fiction

Most popular Second World War fiction books

The most popular Second World War fiction books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Winter Hope: A heartwarming festive World War II saga
For fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries, The Hope Family Christmas is a heart-warming festive novel from the Queen of family saga, and author of The Winter Baby and The Gingerbread Girl, Sheila Newberry. All they want for Christmas is a new home.
2
Cilka's Journey: The sequel to The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Cilka learns quickly that power, even unwillingly given, equals survival. After liberation, Cilka is charged as a collaborator for sleeping with the enemy and sent to Siberia.
3
Annelies: A Novel of Anne Frank
4
Heroes on the Home Front: A wonderfully uplifting wartime story
The second novel in the wonderfully uplifting Factory Girls series. Beth is longing for someone too - and it's not her husband on the front line...As the factory girls face hardship on the home front, they will discover that the heroes they need are already by their side.
5
Beneath the Cypress Tree
A sweeping saga of friends and lovers, set in Crete during the Second World War.
6
Orphan's Gift: An unputdownable Liverpool saga of love and loss
When all seems lost, will her mother's legacy keep her safe? THE ORPHAN'S GIFT is a poignant and heart-warming Liverpool saga by Anne Baker, not to be missed by fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.
7
Long Flight Home: a heart-breaking and uplifting World War 2 love story
A moving, masterfully written story of love and sacrifice, inspired by the fascinating, yet little-known mission of carrier pigeons during WWII. Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Dear Mrs Bird.
8
Fifth Column
A thrilling novel about the only man who can stop Nazi sympathizers from rising up and plunging New York, America and the world into darkness, from Andrew Gross, the bestselling author of The One Man and The Spy.
9
Paris Echo
10
Caging Skies: THE INSPIRATION FOR THE MAJOR MOTION PICTURE 'JOJO RABBIT'
A gripping, atmospheric novel about obsession and love in war-time Vienna
11
Murder Under a Green Sea
Max is an impecunious journalist married to Martha, the daughter of a wealthy family. Max discovers members of his old platoon from Passchendaele are being knocked off one by one. With the police believing Max is the murderer, he and Martha are forced to go on the run. Will he solve the crime or will the murderer or Police get to him first?
12
Disappearance
From the bestselling author of The Legacy, comes a compelling novel exploring guilt, love and the importance of telling the truth, all set against the backdrop of war
13
Fourth Shore
Virginia Baily's new novel, her follow-up to the internationally bestselling Early One Morning, is a sweeping, absorbing novel by one of the most gifted, humane and perceptive storytellers at work today.
14
Ration Book Childhood
Jean Fullerton, the queen of the East End, returns with a wonderful new nostalgic novel. Because in the darkest days of the Blitz, family is more important than ever.
15
Mother's Love
Can love see her through the darkness?'A heartwarming story of love and loss' Woman's WeeklyLiverpool, 1940: there comes a moment in every child's life when they must learn to stand on their own two feet. The death of her mother and the increase in air raids leaves Ellie alone and in grave danger.
16
Land of the Living
17
Memoir of an Anti-Hero
18
Summerland
She also has an ulterior motive: she needs to find a place called Summerland Hall where she hopes she will find the one person left alive who is deeply important to her. An extraordinary tale, with some events inspired by history, that encompasses truth, tolerance, racism and forgiveness.
19
Hidden
Her heart died in the war - can she breathe new life into it?
20
Eight Hours from England
Autumn 1943. Major John Overton accepts a posting behind enemy lines in Nazi-occupied Albania. As he struggles to complete his mission amidst a chaotic backdrop, Overton is left to ruminate on loyalty, comradeship and the futility of war.
21
With Hope and Love
22
Slaughterhouse 5: 50th Anniversary Edition
50th ANNIVERSARY SPECIAL EDITIONAs a young man and a prisoner of war, Kurt Vonnegut witnessed the 1945 US fire-bombing of Dresden in Germany, which reduced the once proudly beautiful city to rubble and claimed the lives of thousands of its citizens. For many years, Kurt tried to write about Dresden but the words would not come.
23
Das Boot
Filled with almost unbearable tension and excitement, DAS BOOT is one of the best stories ever written about war, a supreme novel of the Second World War and an acclaimed film and TV drama.
24
Beneath a Scarlet Sky: A Novel
25
Tattooist of Auschwitz: the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller
26
Love on the Waterways
27
Nightingale
Two sisters. One must be brave. One should be afraid.
28
Children's Block: Based on a true story by an Auschwitz survivor
Alex is keeping a diary...Originally published as THE PAINTED WALL, Otto Kraus's autobiographical novel, tells the true story of 500 Jewish children who lived in the Czech Family Camp in Auschwitz-Birkenau between September 1943 and June 1944.
29
Trial By Battle
October 1941. Twenty-one-year-old Alan Mart is posted to India, and soon after the Japanese advance on Singapore is deployed to Malaya. What follows is a quietly shattering and searingly authentic depiction of the claustrophobia of jungle warfare and the futility of war.
30
Land of the Living
31
Testament: Shortlisted for Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliot Prize, following a young woman uncovering the truth about her family's past in the Hungarian Holocaust.
32
Old Baggage: Shortlisted for the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Literature 2019
Jailed five times, she marched, sang, gave speeches, smashed windows and heckled Winston Churchill, and nothing - nothing - since then has had the same depth, the same excitement.
33
In the Full Light of the Sun
34
After the Party
35
Bridge
The third and final instalment in the Airborne trilogy centred on the WW2 parachute regiment.
36
Complete Flying Officer X Stories
37
Liberty Girls
Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell, Elaine Everest, Nadine Dorries and Mr Selfridge.***March, 1942: new mother Alice Milwood is itching to return to her job as a shop assistant at Liberty's. Despite her husband still being missing in action, Alice is determined to give baby Arthur the best possible start.
38
Sound of the Hours
As Germans occupy the mountains round Barga, and U.S. Buffalo soldiers draw near, loyalties are tested, and families torn apart. Frank Chapel, a black soldier fighting for a country that refuses him the vote, is unlike anyone Viittoria Guidi has met. In the chaos, they find each other--but can their growing love defy prejudice and war? war?
39
How We Disappeared
A beautiful, stunningly ambitious tale of endurance, identity, and memory, for fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko and Georgia Hunter's We Were the Lucky Ones.
40
Life And Fate (Vintage Classic Russians Series)
A novel that focuses on overshadowing the lives of a huge cast of Russian and German characters which looms the battle of Stalingrad.
41
In the Shadow of Wolves: A Times Book of the Year, 2019
A powerful story of survival and resilience in a world devastated by the Second World War
42
Murder by Matchlight
This atmospheric mystery set against the backdrop of 1945 blackout London sees Lorac's CID man MacDonald pit his considerable wits against a host of characterful suspects. Also includes the Lorac short story, 'Permanent Policeman'.
43
Partisan Heart
An enthralling story of love and betrayal, set in the darkest days of World War II. Weaving superbly between 1999 and 1944, between Britain and the Italian Alps.
44
Long Petal of the Sea
45
South by Java Head
The 50th anniversary edition of this classic World War 2 adventure set in south-east Asia.
46
Between the Regions of Kindness
An exquisite and original take on the family saga, from the PEN Ackerley Prize-winning Alice Jolly
47
Auschwitz Lullaby: A Novel
In the tradition of novels such as The Women in the Castle that illuminate the strong women who fought for their families and others during WWII comes the story of Helene Hanneman, a German nurse married to a Gypsy man who lived for sixteen months in Auschwitz under Nazi doctor Joseph Mengele.
48
Life And Fate (Vintage Classic Russians Series)
Offering a broad portrait of an age and a searing vision of Stalinist Russia, this book is also the story of a family, the Shaposhnikovs, whose lives in the army, the gulag, a physics institute, a power station and a concentration camp are stunningly evoked, from their darkest to their most poetic moments.
49
Disappearance
From the bestselling author of The Legacy, comes a compelling novel exploring guilt, love and confronting the truth, all set against the backdrop of war
50
Ike and Kay
Ike and Kay is a thrilling tale of wartime romance, brimming with love, duty, sacrifice and heartbreak, set against the backdrop of the most tumultuous period of the twentieth century.