Browse categories

Most popular Literature & literary studies books

The most popular Literature & literary studies books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Macbeth
Encompasses witchcraft, bloody murder, and ghostly apparitions. This work tells the tragedy of a good, brave and honourable man turned into the personification of evil by the workings of unreasonable ambition.
2
Milk and Honey
milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. About the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss and femininity.
3
No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference: Illustrated Edition
4
Morning Glory on the Vine: Early Songs and Drawings
Originally handcrafted in 1971 as a gift for friends, this edition of Joni Mitchell's best-loved poems, illustrations, watercolours and hand-lettered song lyrics is now publicly available for the first time. The perfect Christmas present for any Joni Mitchell fan
5
Crucible: A Play in Four Acts
Shows how the small city of Salem is stirred into madness by superstition, paranoia and malice, culminating in a violent climax, is a savage attack on the evils of mindless persecution and the terrifying power of false accusations. This is a depiction of innocent men and women destroyed by malicious rumour, and more.
6
Fascism and Democracy
7
Inspector Calls and Other Plays
Includes plays "An Inspector Calls", "Time and the Conways", "I Have Been Here Before", and "The Linden Tree".
8
Nicomachean Ethics
In the Nicomachean Ethics Aristotle examines the nature of happiness, which he defines as a specially good kind of life. He considers the nature of practical reasoning, friendship, and the role and importance of the moral virtues in the best life. This new edition features a revised translation and valuable new introduction and notes.
9
Lost Connections: Why You're Depressed and How to Find Hope
Lost Connections<br>THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER'A book that could actually make us happy' SIMON AMSTELL'This amazing book will change your life' ELTON JOHN'One of the most important texts of recent years' BRITISH JOURNAL OF GENERAL PRACTICE'Brilliant, stimulating, radical' MATT HAIG'The more people read this book, the better off the world will be' NAOMI KLEIN'Wonderful' HILLARY CLINTON'Eye-opening' GUARDIAN'Brilliant for anyone wanting a better understanding of mental health' ZOE BALL'A game-changer' DAVINA MCCALL'Extraordinary' DR MAX PEMBERTON'Beautiful' RUSSELL BRANDDepression and anxiety are now at epidemic levels. Why? Across the world, scientists have uncovered evidence for nine different causes. Some are in our biology, but most are in the way we are living today.Lost Connections offers a radical new way of thinking about this crisis. It shows that once we understand the real causes, we can begin to turn to pioneering new solutions - ones that offer real hope.<br>
10
Blood Brothers
This Student Edition of Willy Russell's successful folk opera, the story of two Liverpudlian brothers who grow up on opposite sides of the social tracks, includes biographical notes and an introduction to the play with guidance on its interpretation.
11
Mythos: The Greek Myths Retold
12
Headlines and Hedgerows: A Memoir
13
Romeo and Juliet
Love, sex and death are the components in this story of the love of two young people which reaches across the barriers of family and convention. It encompasses great love, high drama, low comedy and a tragic ending.
14
Blood Brothers
Twin brothers are seperated at birth because their mother cannot afford to keep them both. She gives one of them away to wealthy Mrs Lyons and they grow up as friends, in ignorance of their fraternity until the inevitable quarrel unleashes a blood-bath.
15
Rupi Kaur Boxed Set
Available for the first time, Rupi Kaur, presents a gorgeous boxed set of her books milk and honey and the sun and her flowers.
16
Sun and Her Flowers
The stunning new poetry collection from Rupi Kaur, worldwide bestselling author of milk and honey.
17
Merchant of Venice
Features one of Shakespeare's most popular comedies, but it remains deeply controversial. Here, the text may well seem anti-Semitic; yet repeatedly, in performance, it has revealed a contrasting nature. Shylock, though vanquished in the law-court, often triumphs in the theatre
18
Heroes: The myths of the Ancient Greek heroes retold
19
My First Memory: Epiphanies, Watersheds and Origin Stories
20
Wuthering Heights
A passionate story of the love between Catherine Earnshaw and Heathcliff, a foundling adopted by Catherine's father. The story's action is chaotic and violent, but the accomplished handling of a complex structure, the descriptions of the moorland setting and the poetic grandeur combined to make this novel a masterpiece of English literature.
21
Reasons to Stay Alive
THE MOST TALKED ABOUT MEMOIR OF 2015 - NOW IN PAPERBACK
22
Romeo and Juliet (No Fear Shakespeare)
"The play plus a translation anyone can understand"--Cover.
23
Sincerity
Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy returns with Sincerity, her last full collection as Poet Laureate, a magisterial achievement from the greatest living poet of our times.
24
Only Dull People Are Brilliant at Breakfast
Gives readers a taste of the Classics' huge range and diversity, with works from around the world and across the centuries - including fables, decadence, heartbreak, tall tales, satire, ghosts, battles and elephants.
25
Shine: Discover a Brighter You
26
Fleche
POETRY BOOK SOCIETY RECOMMENDATIONFleche (the French word for 'arrow') is an offensive technique commonly used in fencing, a sport of Mary Jean Chan's young adult years, when she competed locally and internationally for her home city, Hong Kong.
27
Hamlet
Hamlet is not only one of Shakespeare's greatest plays, but also the most fascinatingly problematical tragedy in world literature
28
Crucible"
The Crucible is Miller's classic dramatisation of the witch-hunt and trials that besieged the Puritan community of Salem in 1692. This definitive critical edition of the play features a comprehensive commentary, notes and questions prepared by one of the leading international Miller experts in consultation with the author's estate.
29
Beginning Theory: An Introduction to Literary and Cultural Theory: Fourth Edition
Beginning theory has been helping students navigate through the thickets of literary and cultural theory for over two decades. This new and expanded fourth edition continues to offer readers the best single-volume introduction to the field. The bewildering variety of approaches, theorists and technical language is lucidly and expertly unravelled., Unlike many books which assume certain positions about the critics and the theories they represent, Beginning theory allows readers to develop their own ideas once first principles and concepts have been grasped. The book has been updated for this edition and includes a new introduction, expanded chapters, and an overview of the subject ('Theory after "Theory"') which maps the arrival of new 'isms' since the second edition appeared in 2002 and the third edition in 2009. -- .
30
Teaching My Mother How to Give Birth
What elevates 'teaching my mother how to give birth', is Warsan Shire's ability to give simple, beautiful eloquence to the veiled world where sensuality lives in the dominant narrative of Islam; reclaiming the more nuanced truths of earlier times, translating to the realm of lyric the work of the likes of Nawal El Saadawi.
31
Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant: Modern Life as Interpreted by Someone Who is Reasonably Bad at Living it
`This is a funny and beautiful book. What a little bastard.' RUSSELL BRAND `A millennial's answer to David Sedaris. No writer is funnier than Joel Golby.' DOLLY ALDERTON
32
No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference: Illustrated Edition
33
Tao of Pooh & The Te of Piglet
While Pooh's Way is closely aligned to the ancient principle of Taoist philosophy, Piglet exhibits the very important principle of Taoism of the Te, meaning Virtue of the Small. The Tao of Pooh and The Te of Piglet combines two of Benjamin Hoff's bestselling philosophy books.
34
Macbeth (No Fear Shakespeare)
Presents the original text of Shakespeare's play side by side with a modern version, with marginal notes and explanations and full descriptions of each character.
35
DNA (School Edition)
A group of teenagers do something bad, really bad, then panic and cover the whole thing up. But when they find that the cover-up unites them and brings harmony to their otherwise fractious lives, where's the incentive to put things right? DNA is a poignant and, sometimes, hilarious tale with a very dark heart.
36
Words By
37
View from the Bridge
Eddie Carbone is a longshoreman and a straightforward man, with a strong sense of decency and of honour. For Eddie, it's a privilege to take in his wife's cousins, Marco and Rodolpho, straight off the boat from Italy.
38
Oresteia: Agamemnon, The Libation Bearers, The Eumenides
A king's decision to sacrifice his daughter and turn the tide of war inflicts lasting damage on his family, culminating in a terrible act of retribution.
39
Epic of Gilgamesh
Miraculously preserved on clay tablets dating back four thousand years, the poem of Gilgamesh, king of Uruk, is the world's oldest epic. The story tells of Gilgamesh's adventures with the wild man Enkidu. This text is translated by Andrew George.
40
Consolation of Philosophy
Boethius was an eminent public figure under the Gothic emperor Theodoric, and an exceptional Greek scholar. When he became involved in a conspiracy and was imprisoned in Pavia, it was to the Greek philosophers that he turned. This work is a dialogue of alternating prose and verse between him and his 'nurse' Philosophy.
41
Moonlight Travellers
Bringing together two formidable talents for the first time, this literary and artistic collaboration on the theme of night travel features original artwork by Quentin Blake and text by Will Self.
42
Lais of Marie De France: With Two Further Lais in the Original Old French
Marie de France (fl late twelfth century) is the earliest known French woman poet and her lais - stories in verse based on Breton tales of chivalry and romance - are among the finest of the genre. This book takes a subtle and complex view of courtly love.
43
Carrying: Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Poetry
The #1 bestselling new collection from National Book Award finalist Ada Limon are 'Exquisite poems about love, fertility, desire, this natural world we move through, the political climate, so much more' Roxane Gay
44
Ten Poems about Snow
45
Experiments on Reality
46
Time Lived, Without Its Flow
A beautiful, short philosophical memoir of maternal loss and grief, for readers of Max Porter and Helen MacDonald.
47
Collected Poems of Rudyard Kipling
This edition of the poetry of Rudyard Kipling contains all of his verse. His poetry uses many rhythms and popular forms of speech, ranging from dramatic monologues to extended ballads. Often mistakenly branded as a fascist, Kipling's attitudes changed over the years, revealing a darker side.
48
Pillow Thoughts
Make a cup of tea and let yourself feel.
49
Poo or False?: A completely crappy quiz book, perfect for secret santa!
A cavalcade of crappy curiosities and fascinating faecal facts... in quiz form!
50
Pillow Thoughts III: Mending the Mind
Courtney Peppernell presents a tribute to her readers in the third installment of her bestselling Pillow Thoughts series.