Browse categories
Home
  1. Fiction/
  2. Horror & ghost stories

Most popular Horror & ghost stories books

The most popular Horror & ghost stories books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Flight or Fright: 17 Turbulent Tales Edited by Stephen King and Bev Vincent
An anthology of turbulent tales edited by Stephen King and Bev Vincent. This exciting new collection, perfect for airport and aeroplane reading, includes an original introduction and story notes for each story by Stephen King, and brand new stories from Stephen King and Joe Hill.
2
Woman In Black
'Heartstoppingly chilling' Daily ExpressAs The Woman in Black celebrates thirty years on stage, discover the truly terrifying classic English ghost story behind the play.
3
Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde and Other Tales of Terror
A story of respectable Dr Jekyll's strange association with the 'damnable young man' Edward Hyde; the hunt through fog-bound London for a killer; and the final revelation of Hyde's true identity is a chilling exploration of humanity's basest capacity for evil.
4
Dracula
Bram Stoker's chilling masterpiece, Dracula, is a truly iconic and unsettling tale of vampirism.
5
Ghoster
The razor-sharp new supernatural thriller from Jason Arnopp, author of the critically acclaimed cult hit The Last Days of Jack Sparks.
6
Frankenstein
Frankenstein is a deeply disturbing story of a monstrous creation, which has terrified and chilled readers since its first publication in 1818.
7
Blood Communion: A Tale of Prince Lestat (The Vampire Chronicles 13)
8
Secret of Cold Hill
A spine-tingling ghost story by the number one bestselling author Peter James.
9
It: film tie-in edition of Stephen King's IT
Film tie-in for the new 2017 film, which will be in theatres from September 8th.
10
Dracula and Other Horror Classics (Barnes & Noble Collectible Classics: Omnibus Edition)
Part of Barnes & Noble's series, this title presents a classic work in an attractive genuine bonded leather edition, with gilt-edged pages and gold ribbon marker that can make an elegant addition to any home library.
11
Walking Dead Book 16
"Originally published in single magazine form as The Walking Dead #181-193."
12
Dracula
When Jonathan Harker visits Transylvania to help Count Dracula purchase a London house, he makes horrifying discoveries in his client's castle. Soon afterwards, disturbing incidents unfold in England: a ship runs aground on the shores of Whitby, its crew vanished; and the lunatic Renfield raves about the imminent arrival of his 'master'.
13
Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe (Barnes & Noble Collectible Classics: Omnibus Edition)
Edgar Allan Poe is credited with having pioneered the short story, having perfected the tale of psychological horror, and having revolutionised modern poetics. The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar is part of Barnes & Noble's Leatherbound Classics. This omnibus edition collects all of Poe's fiction and poetry in a single volume.
14
Walking Dead Volume 32: Rest in Peace
The Commonwealth and Alexandria have joined forces but at what cost to Rick?
15
Devil Aspect: `A blood-pumping, nerve-shredding thriller'
From award-winning author Craig Russell comes a psychological tale of horror and suspense.
16
Evil Roots: Killer Tales of the Botanical Gothic
Strangling vines and meat-hungry flora fill this unruly garden of strange stories, selected for their significance as the seeds of the villainous (or perhaps just misunderstood) `killer plant' in fiction, film and video games.
17
Promethean Horrors: Classic Tales of Mad Science
18
Tales of the Tattooed: An Anthology of Ink
The excruciating beauty, exoticism and mystery of tattoos is laid bare in this new collection of 12 stories ranging from the 1880s to 1940s.
19
Roarings from Further Out: Four Weird Novellas by Algernon Blackwood
From one of the greatest and most prolific authors of twentieth century weird fiction come four of the very best strange stories ever written: The Willows, The Wendigo, The Man Whom the Trees Loved and Ancient Sorceries.
20
Haunting of Hill House
Four seekers have arrived at the rambling old pile known as Hill House: Dr Montague, an occult scholar looking for solid evidence of psychic phenomena; Theodora, his lovely assistant; Luke, the future inheritor of the estate; and Eleanor, a friendless, fragile young woman with a dark past.
21
Walking Dead Compendium Volume 4
Just in time for the new season of The Walking Dead on AMC, the fan-favorite, New York Times-bestselling series returns with its fourth massive paperback collection.\Collects #145-192.
22
Bone China: The deliciously spooky Autumn read of 2019
23
Outsider: The No.1 Sunday Times Bestseller
'If you read only one novel this Summer, make it this one' (Daily Mail). THE OUTSIDER is a compelling and chilling suspense novel, which will delight all readers of King's crime thrillers, including the Hodges trilogy.
24
Walking Dead Volume 31: The Rotten Core
Rick leads the Commonwealth's Governor, Pamela Milton, on a tour of the various communities Alexandria is aligned with. Naturally... terrible things begin to happen very quickly.
25
Frankissstein: A Love Story
From 'one of the most gifted writers working today' (New York Times) comes an audacious new novel about the bodies we live in and the bodies we desireIn Brexit Britain, a young transgender doctor called Ry is falling in love - against their better judgement - with Victor Stein, a celebrated professor leading the public debate around AI.
26
Carrie
Stephen King's legendary debut, about a teenage outcast and the revenge she enacts on her classmates, is a Classic. CARRIE is the novel which set him on the road to the Number One bestselling author King is today.
27
H.P. Lovecraft (Barnes & Noble Collectible Classics: Omnibus Edition): The Complete Fiction
In the 1920s and '30s, H P Lovecraft pioneered a new type of fiction that fused elements of supernatural horror with the concepts of visionary science fiction. Lovecraft's tales of cosmic horror revolutionised modern horror fiction. This title collects Lovecraft's fictions.
28
I Always Find You
A spine-tingling, boundary-crossing, mind-blowing conceptual horror novel from the bestselling author of Let the Right One In
29
Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde and Other Tales
Stevenson's short novel, published in 1886, became an instant classic. It was a Gothic horror originating in a feverish nightmare, that has thrilled readers ever since. Also included in this edition are a number of short stories and essays of the 1880s and extracts from writings on personality disorder that set the works in their historical context.
30
Complete Cthulhu Mythos Tales (Barnes & Noble Collectible Classics: Omnibus Edition)
The Cthulhu Mythos was H.P. Lovecraft's greatest contribution to supernatural literature. This anthology includes 23 of his weirdest tales, including 'The Call of Cthulhu', 'The Colour Out of Space', 'The Dunwich Horror' and 'The Shadow Out of Time'.
31
Merry Spinster: Tales of everyday horror
A collection of darkly playful stories based on classic folk and fairy tales (but with a feminist spin) that find the sinister in the familiar and the familiar in the alien. From Daniel Mallory Ortberg, author of Texts From Jane Eyre.
32
Wayward Girls: The perfect haunting read as the nights draw in . . .
When strange, unexplained occurrences in the house begin to disturb their every waking moment, the family gain even more notoriety. Then a group of strangers arrives, fascinated by the mysterious goings on, and becomes increasingly entwined with this eccentric family.
33
Songs of a Dead Dreamer and Grimscribe
Influenced by the strange terrors of Lovecraft and Poe and by the brutal absurdity of Kafka, the author crafts his own brand of existential horror, which shocks at the deepest levels.
34
Outcast by Kirkman & Azaceta Volume 7
"Originally published in single magazine form as Outcast by Kirkman & Azaceta #37-42"--Copyright page.
35
Dark Ink
A nightmarishly compelling tale of secrets, power and revenge.
36
Help The Witch
A collection of folk ghost stories from the Sunday Times bestselling author Tom Cox
37
Roarings from Further Out: Four Weird Novellas by Algernon Blackwood
"It is my firm opinion that...The Willows is the greatest weird tale ever written." - H.P. LovecraftFrom one of the greatest and most prolific authors of twentieth century weird fiction come four of the very best strange stories ever told.
38
Phantom of the Opera
The little known, brilliant original text by Gaston Leroux has been immortalized by screen and stage adaptations. One of the greatest horror stories of all time, The Phantom of the Opera makes compulsive reading.
39
Girl at the Window: A beautiful story of love, hope and family secrets to read this summer
A hauntingly beautiful story of love and hope, from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Memory Book and The Summer of Impossible Things________________________________What your favourite authors are saying'A beautiful story...written with such wisdom and kindness' Joanna Cannon'Spellbinding.
40
Turn of the Screw & The Aspern Papers
"The Turn of the Screw" is the classic ghost story for which James is most remembered. Set in a country house, it is a chilling tale of the supernatural. "The Aspern Papers" is a tale of Americans in Europe, cleverly evoking the drama of comedie humaine against the settings of a Venetian palace.
41
Gwendy's Magic Feather: (The Button Box Series)
Set in Castle Rock, Maine, Gwendy's Magic Feather is a wonderful sequel to Gwendy's Button Box written by Richard Chizmar with a foreword by Stephen King.
42
My Best Friend's Exorcism
A heartwarming story of friendship and demonic possession.
43
Dark Matter: the gripping ghost story from the author of WAKENHYRST
A terrifying 1930s ghost story set in the haunting wilderness of the far north.
44
Silver Nails
Readers are taken through a journey in the fantasy land of Warhammer through five interwoven novellas featuring Genevieve the vampire.
45
Beasts in Velvet
A classic vampire tale set in the Old World of Warhammer Fantasy.
46
NOS4A2
BRAND NEW SERIES on AMC UK - coming 13 August 2019 based on the terrifying novel from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling horror writer, Joe Hill
47
Paris Mysteries
48
Alice Isn't Dead
From the creator of the wildly popular Welcome to Night Vale podcast comes a story about loving, about searching - and about the courage you need when you find the unexpected. For fans of Stephen King, Serial, Twin Peaks and of course the eponymous number one iTunes podcast itself.
49
Starve Acre: BBC Radio 4 Book at Bedtime
'Starve Acre may well be his best novel so far' The Times
50
Remaking: A Novel
This novel is perfect for fans of supernatural thrillers/horror, as well as true-crime podcasts like My Favorite Murder, Last Podcast on the Left, Serial, and more.