Browse categories
Home
  1. Fiction/
  2. Historical fiction

Most popular Historical fiction books

The most popular Historical fiction books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Overstory: Winner of the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction
2
Familiars: The spellbinding Sunday Times Bestseller and Richard & Judy Book Club Pick
When Fleetwood finds a letter she isn't supposed to read from the doctor who delivered her third stillbirth, she is dealt the crushing blow that she will not survive another pregnancy. Then she crosses paths by chance with Alice Gray, a young midwife.
3
Confessions of Frannie Langton: The Costa Book Awards First Novel Winner 2019
4
Four Sisters
A powerful story about the bond of sisterhood and how it can triumph against any adversity, from the Sunday Times bestselling author Val Wood. Hull, 1852. Matty has had to care for her three younger sisters ever since their mother's death ten years ago.
5
Mother's Wish
A MOVING, HEARTFELT AND FAMILY DRIVEN SAGA SET IN TURN-OF-THE-CENTURY LONDON FROM THE BESTSELLING SAGA AUTHOREffie Grey has fallen on hard times since the death of her husband.
6
Giver of Stars: Fall in love with the enchanting Sunday Times bestseller from the author of Me Before You
7
Ghost Fire
But Connie once again finds herself at the mercy of vicious men, whose appetite for war and glory lead her to the frontlines of the French battlefield in North America. As the siblings find their destinies converging once more, they realise that the vengeance and redemption they both desperately seek could cost them their lives .
8
Orphan's Winter: The perfect heart-warming festive saga for Christmas 2019
The brand new heart-warming and nostalgic family saga from the bestselling author of The Boy With No Boots.
9
Lost Ten: A fast-paced and action-packed Roman historical thriller
A desperate rescue attempt deep behind enemy lines . Valens must marshal this disparate group of men and earn their respect, before it's too late .
10
In His Father's Footsteps
Danielle Steel proves she is the world's favourite storyteller in In His Father's Footsteps, a deeply moving novel about love, understanding and family, set in post-Second World War New York.
11
Circe: The International No. 1 Bestseller - Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019
12
Liverpool Daughter: A heart-warming wartime story
THE FIRST IN A HEART-WARMING NEW SERIES BY SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER, KATIE FLYNN______________________________'Home is where the heart is, and my heart belongs to Liverpool.
13
Pirata: The dramatic novel of the pirates who hunt the seas of the Roman Empire
PIRATA - the Sunday Times bestseller. An action-packed novel of Roman pirates in AD 25, from the bestselling author of the Eagles of the Empire novels including TRAITORS OF ROME.
14
Pirata: The dramatic novel of the pirates who hunt the seas of the Roman Empire
PIRATA - the dramatic and action-packed novel of Roman pirates in AD 25, from the bestselling authors of INVADER and ARENA. Simon Scarrow is also the Sunday Times-bestselling author of the Eagles of the Empire novels including THE BLOOD OF ROME.
15
Blood & Sugar
1781. An investigation into a gruesome murder on the Deptford Docks leads to a dark secret that could change the very core of British society . . .
16
Those Who Are Loved
The new captivating novel from the multi-million-copy bestselling author of The Island and Cartes Postales from Greece, Victoria Hislop.
17
Six Tudor Queens: Anna of Kleve, Queen of Secrets: Six Tudor Queens 4
The fourth spectacular novel in the highly acclaimed SIX TUDOR QUEENS series by historian and Sunday Times bestselling author, Alison Weir.
18
Inheritance of Solomon Farthing
An heir hunter in modern-day Edinburgh searches out the rightful inheritor to a dead man's fortune - an investigation that will lead him to the battlefields of WWI France, and the mystery of a six-man firing squad . . .
19
Love Without End: A Story of Heloise and Abelard
Melvyn Bragg gives new life to one of the most remarkable love stories in history: the passionate, enduring romance between Heloise and Abelard.
20
Clockmaker's Daughter
The mesmerizing sixth novel from the bestselling author of The House at Riverton and The Lake House.
21
Spitfire Sisters
The Spitfire Sisters is the third book in Sunday Times besteller Margaret Dickinson's moving Maitland trilogy.
22
Tidelands: HER NEW SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER
23
Cilka's Journey: The sequel to The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Cilka learns quickly that power, even unwillingly given, equals survival. After liberation, Cilka is charged as a collaborator for sleeping with the enemy and sent to Siberia.
24
Annelies: A Novel of Anne Frank
25
One Fatal Flaw (Daniel Pitt Mystery 3)
How far will young barrister Daniel Pitt go to find the truth? New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry returns with the third enthralling mystery in the thrilling new generation of Pitt novels.
26
Garden of Evening Mists
Tan Twan Eng's rich, absorbing, internationally bestselling, Man Booker-shortlisted epic - now a major motion picture
27
Master of His Fate
From Victorian London to the vibrant port cities of England and France, from gracious stately homes in Gloucestershire to the decadence of Paris, Master of his Fate launches an unforgettable new historical series.
28
Pack Up Your Troubles: War at Home, 1919
The sixth and final book in the War at Home series by the author of The Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the evocative backdrop of World War I, this is an epic family drama featuring the Hunters and their servants
29
Catholic School
A novel that takes the reader into a closed world of privilege and tradition: for fans of crime fiction, but also true crime - a study of class, religion, and how a worldview which sees violence as an integral part of masculinity, and any empowerment of women as a threat to men's dominance, can only end in tragedy.
30
Map of the Damage
The brilliant new novel from the acclaimed author of The Vanishing
31
Daughters of Liverpool
32
Chaperone: Film Tie-In
33
Pack Up Your Troubles: War at Home, 1919
The sixth and final book in the War at Home series by the author of The Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the evocative backdrop of World War I, this is an epic family drama featuring the Hunters and their servants
34
Tattooist of Auschwitz: the heart-breaking and unforgettable Sunday Times bestseller
And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. -----'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting .
35
Outrageous Fortune of Abel Morgan
After the wars in Restoration Europe and the death of his wife, Christopher Morgan tries to start afresh, buying a pub in the West Country. His new life is torn apart when his young son Abel is kidnapped and sold. From the shores of Constantinople to the western American isles, Christopher will sail far and wide to search for his missing son.
36
Guardian of Lies
This epic novel is an unforgettably powerful story of love, loss and the long shadow of war, perfect for readers of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop.
37
Mother and Child
Bestselling author Annie Murray movingly explores one family's suffering over two generations, and our power to heal from heartbreaking loss.
38
Moonlight Over Mayfair: The new romantic novel from bestselling author and Strictly star Anton Du Beke
But a lot can happen on the dancefloor - whispered conversations, secret relationships, clandestine messages passed - and Raymond soon finds himself in a position of both power and danger. Raymond knows that keeping his budding relationship with chambermaid Nancy secret is now more important than ever.
39
Things in Jars
The gripping Victorian detective novel from the Costa Award-winner and twice BBC Radio 2 Book Club author
40
Scorpion's Strike: Empire X
The tenth instalment of the bestselling Empire Series, which sees Marcus Aquila on a mission to Gaul where a bandit turns out to be a dangerous revolutionary.
41
Ambush: (Previously titled Blood Forest)
42
Capitol Death: Flavia Albia 7
The next book in the gripping Flavia Albia series, by acclaimed author Lindsey Davis
43
Circe: The International No. 1 Bestseller - Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019
44
Second Sleep: the Sunday Times #1 bestselling novel
45
Miner's Wife
Set in the Yorkshire Dales, The Miner's Wife is a sweeping family drama following a young woman who falls in love with a man who is not everything he seems . . .
46
Gallows Pole
From his remote moorland home, David Hartley assembles a gang of weavers and land-workers to embark upon a criminal enterprise that will capsize the economy and become the biggest fraud in British history. They are the Cragg Vale Coiners and their business is 'clipping' the forging of coins, a treasonous offence punishable by death.
47
Beekeeper of Aleppo
In the midst of war, he found loveIn the midst of darkness, he found courageIn the midst of tragedy, he found hopeThe Beekeeper of AleppoWhat will you find from his story?Nuri is a beekeeper;
48
Once Upon a River: The Sunday Times bestseller
49
Silence of the Girls: Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019
50
Warlight