Browse categories
Home
  1. Fiction/
  2. Historical fiction

Most popular Historical fiction books

The most popular Historical fiction books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Giver of Stars: Fall in love with the enchanting Sunday Times bestseller from the author of Me Before You
2
Familiars: The spellbinding Sunday Times Bestseller and Richard & Judy Book Club Pick
When Fleetwood finds a letter she isn't supposed to read from the doctor who delivered her third stillbirth, she is dealt the crushing blow that she will not survive another pregnancy. Then she crosses paths by chance with Alice Gray, a young midwife.
3
Four Sisters
With little money left they're now forced to battle life's misfortunes alone... A powerful story about the bond of sisterhood and how it can triumph against any adversity, from the Sunday Times bestselling author Val Wood.
4
Ghost Fire
But Connie once again finds herself at the mercy of vicious men, whose appetite for war and glory lead her to the frontlines of the French battlefield in North America. As the siblings find their destinies converging once more, they realise that the vengeance and redemption they both desperately seek could cost them their lives .
5
Overstory: Winner of the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction
SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018The Overstory unfolds in concentric rings of interlocking fables that range from antebellum New York to the late twentieth-century Timber Wars of the Pacific Northwest and beyond:An Air Force loadmaster in the Vietnam War is shot out of the sky, then saved by falling into a banyan.
6
Lost Ten: A fast-paced and action-packed Roman historical thriller
A desperate rescue attempt deep behind enemy lines . Valens must marshal this disparate group of men and earn their respect, before it's too late .
7
In His Father's Footsteps
Danielle Steel proves she is the world's favourite storyteller in In His Father's Footsteps, a deeply moving novel about love, understanding and family, set in post-Second World War New York.
8
Silence of the Girls: Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019
9
Tidelands: HER NEW SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER
10
Pirata: The dramatic novel of the pirates who hunt the seas of the Roman Empire
PIRATA - the dramatic and action-packed novel of Roman pirates in AD 25, from the bestselling authors of INVADER and ARENA. Simon Scarrow is also the Sunday Times-bestselling author of the Eagles of the Empire novels including THE BLOOD OF ROME.
11
Inheritance of Solomon Farthing
An heir hunter in modern-day Edinburgh searches out the rightful inheritor to a dead man's fortune - an investigation that will lead him to the battlefields of WWI France, and the mystery of a six-man firing squad . . .
12
Those Who Are Loved
The new captivating novel from the multi-million-copy bestselling author of The Island and Cartes Postales from Greece, Victoria Hislop.
13
One Fatal Flaw (Daniel Pitt Mystery 3)
How far will young barrister Daniel Pitt go to find the truth? New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry returns with the third enthralling mystery in the thrilling new generation of Pitt novels.
14
Capitol Death: Flavia Albia 7
The next book in the gripping Flavia Albia series, by acclaimed author Lindsey Davis
15
Garden of Evening Mists
Tan Twan Eng's rich, absorbing, internationally bestselling, Man Booker-shortlisted epic - now a major motion picture
16
Master of His Fate
From Victorian London to the vibrant port cities of England and France, from gracious stately homes in Gloucestershire to the decadence of Paris, Master of his Fate launches an unforgettable new historical series.
17
Tattooist of Auschwitz: the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller
And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. -----'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting .
18
Sun Sister
Moving from the frenetic atmosphere of Manhattan to the magnificent wide-open plains of Africa, The Sun Sister is the sixth instalment in Lucinda Riley's multi-million selling epic series, The Seven Sisters.
19
Pack Up Your Troubles: War at Home, 1919
The sixth and final book in the War at Home series by the author of The Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the evocative backdrop of World War I, this is an epic family drama featuring the Hunters and their servants
20
Circe: The International No. 1 Bestseller - Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019
21
Moonlight Over Mayfair: The new romantic novel from bestselling author and Strictly star Anton Du Beke
But a lot can happen on the dancefloor - whispered conversations, secret relationships, clandestine messages passed - and Raymond soon finds himself in a position of both power and danger. Raymond knows that keeping his budding relationship with chambermaid Nancy secret is now more important than ever.
22
Catholic School
A novel that takes the reader into a closed world of privilege and tradition: for fans of crime fiction, but also true crime - a study of class, religion, and how a worldview which sees violence as an integral part of masculinity, and any empowerment of women as a threat to men's dominance, can only end in tragedy.
23
Map of the Damage
The brilliant new novel from the acclaimed author of The Vanishing
24
Order of the Day
A gripping and compelling fictional account of the key meetings and events which led up to the outbreak of World War Two: how egos flourished, diplomacy failed, and a few powerful men brought Europe to the brink of disaster. For fans of HHhH and To Die in Spring.
25
Daughters of Liverpool
26
Winter of the Witch
A magical and captivating coming of age novel set in medieval Russia - perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials. Vasilisa, a girl with extraordinary gifts, must flee for her life, pursued by those who blame their misfortune on her magic.
27
Pack Up Your Troubles: War at Home, 1919
The sixth and final book in the War at Home series by the author of The Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the evocative backdrop of World War I, this is an epic family drama featuring the Hunters and their servants
28
Chaperone: Film Tie-In
29
Mother and Child
Bestselling author Annie Murray movingly explores one family's suffering over two generations, and our power to heal from heartbreaking loss.
30
Outrageous Fortune of Abel Morgan
After the wars in Restoration Europe and the death of his wife, Christopher Morgan tries to start afresh, buying a pub in the West Country. His new life is torn apart when his young son Abel is kidnapped and sold. From the shores of Constantinople to the western American isles, Christopher will sail far and wide to search for his missing son.
31
Circe: The International No. 1 Bestseller - Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019
32
Guardian of Lies
This epic novel is an unforgettably powerful story of love, loss and the long shadow of war, perfect for readers of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop.
33
Scorpion's Strike: Empire X
The tenth instalment of the bestselling Empire Series, which sees Marcus Aquila on a mission to Gaul where a bandit turns out to be a dangerous revolutionary.
34
Miner's Wife
Set in the Yorkshire Dales, The Miner's Wife is a sweeping family drama following a young woman who falls in love with a man who is not everything he seems . . .
35
Children's Block: Based on a true story by an Auschwitz survivor
Alex is keeping a diary...Originally published as THE PAINTED WALL, Otto Kraus's autobiographical novel, tells the true story of 500 Jewish children who lived in the Czech Family Camp in Auschwitz-Birkenau between September 1943 and June 1944.
36
King of Kings
An epic story of love, betrayal, courage and war that brings together two of Wilbur Smith's greatest families in this long-awaited sequel to his worldwide bestseller, The Triumph of the Sun. Cairo, 1887.
37
Wolf Hall
Winner of the Man Booker Prize The first book in Hilary Mantel's award-winning Wolf Hall trilogy, with a new cover design to celebrate the publication of the much anticipated The Mirror and the Light
38
Gallows Pole
From his remote moorland home, David Hartley assembles a gang of weavers and land-workers to embark upon a criminal enterprise that will capsize the economy and become the biggest fraud in British history. They are the Cragg Vale Coiners and their business is 'clipping' the forging of coins, a treasonous offence punishable by death.
39
Woman's War: The perfect Christmas follow-on to Keep the Home Fires Burning
The story continues . . .
40
Bring Up the Bodies
Winner of the Man Booker Prize The second book in Hilary Mantel's award-winning Wolf Hall trilogy, with a stunning new cover design to celebrate the publication of the much anticipated The Mirror and the Light
41
Blood Queen
The beginning of a brand new historical fiction series by bestselling author Joanna Courtney. Discover the real women behind Shakespeare's most infamous queens . . .
42
Heroes on the Home Front: A wonderfully uplifting wartime story
The second novel in the wonderfully uplifting Factory Girls series. Beth is longing for someone too - and it's not her husband on the front line...As the factory girls face hardship on the home front, they will discover that the heroes they need are already by their side.
43
Love is Blind
44
Girls from Greenway: A nostalgia saga perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Rosie Clark
Little does she know that Doreen too is falling for Gene, and that their affair will have disastrous consequences. As things at home go from bad to worse, Angie, Doreen and Carol must struggle to fight for what they want. Can the girls from Greenway ever achieve their dreams?
45
Blood's Revolution: Would you fight for your king - or fight for your friends?
46
Keep the Home Fires Burning: A heart-warming wartime saga
"From the creator of the smash-hit ITV show Home Fires"--Cover.
47
Sea of Gold: Thomas Kydd 21
Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail. This will be the twenty-first novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Thomas Kydd series.
48
Where the Heart Is
Previously published as The Ever Open Door, this is a story told with warmth and humour, about a hard working, down-to-earth community in a small Yorkshire town during the Second World War and its aftermath. Jim's only complaint is that Sally is too soft hearted, always at the beck and call of any neighbour, friend or even stranger.
49
In the Lion's Den: The House of Falconer
From the bestselling author of A Woman of Substance, a page-turning epic Victorian historical family saga.
50
Pearl Thief: A sweeping, epic story of love and betrayal
A sweeping, epic story of love and betrayal from international bestselling author Fiona McIntosh, perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies's The Missing Sister and Kristin Hannah's The Great Alone. As Severine follows Mayek's trail, the tightly controlled life she's built around herself is shattered.