Browse categories
Home
  1. Fiction/
  2. Historical fiction

Most popular Historical fiction books

The most popular Historical fiction books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Circe: The International No. 1 Bestseller - Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019
2
Overstory: Winner of the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction
SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018The Overstory unfolds in concentric rings of interlocking fables that range from antebellum New York to the late twentieth-century Timber Wars of the Pacific Northwest and beyond:An Air Force loadmaster in the Vietnam War is shot out of the sky, then saved by falling into a banyan.
3
Giver of Stars
4
Ghost Fire
But Connie once again finds herself at the mercy of vicious men, whose appetite for war and glory lead her to the frontlines of the French battlefield in North America. As the siblings find their destinies converging once more, they realise that the vengeance and redemption they both desperately seek could cost them their lives .
5
Cilka's Journey: The sequel to The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Cilka learns quickly that power, even unwillingly given, equals survival. After liberation, Cilka is charged as a collaborator for sleeping with the enemy and sent to Siberia.
6
Order of the Day
A gripping and compelling fictional account of the key meetings and events which led up to the outbreak of World War Two: how egos flourished, diplomacy failed, and a few powerful men brought Europe to the brink of disaster. For fans of HHhH and To Die in Spring.
7
In His Father's Footsteps
Danielle Steel proves she is the world's favourite storyteller in In His Father's Footsteps, a deeply moving novel about love, understanding and family, set in post-Second World War New York.
8
Tidelands: HER NEW SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER
9
Warlight
10
Winter of the Witch
A magical and captivating coming of age novel set in medieval Russia - perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials. Vasilisa, a girl with extraordinary gifts, must flee for her life, pursued by those who blame their misfortune on her magic.
11
Winter Soldier
The stunning third novel from the bestselling author of The Piano Tuner. As the First World War devastates Europe, The Winter Soldier is the story of one man thrust, utterly unprepared, into a remote medical outpost in the Carpathian mountains, and the woman that is set to save him.
12
Inheritance of Solomon Farthing
An heir hunter in modern-day Edinburgh searches out the rightful inheritor to a dead man's fortune - an investigation that will lead him to the battlefields of WWI France, and the mystery of a six-man firing squad . . .
13
Pirata: The dramatic novel of the pirates who hunt the seas of the Roman Empire
PIRATA - the dramatic and action-packed novel of Roman pirates in AD 25, from the bestselling authors of INVADER and ARENA. Simon Scarrow is also the Sunday Times-bestselling author of the Eagles of the Empire novels including THE BLOOD OF ROME.
14
Those Who Are Loved
The new captivating novel from the multi-million-copy bestselling author of The Island and Cartes Postales from Greece, Victoria Hislop.
15
Tattooist of Auschwitz: the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller
And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. -----'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting .
16
Silence of the Girls: Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019
17
Sword of Kings
THE INCREDIBLE NEW NOVEL FROM THE GLOBALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR Uhtred of Bebbanburg is a man of his word.
18
Master of His Fate
From Victorian London to the vibrant port cities of England and France, from gracious stately homes in Gloucestershire to the decadence of Paris, Master of his Fate launches an unforgettable new historical series.
19
Circe: The International No. 1 Bestseller - Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019
20
Capitol Death: Flavia Albia 7
The next book in the gripping Flavia Albia series, by acclaimed author Lindsey Davis
21
Second Sleep: the Sunday Times #1 bestselling novel
The land around is strewn with ancient artefacts - coins, fragments of glass, human bones - which the old parson used to collect.
22
Catholic School
A novel that takes the reader into a closed world of privilege and tradition: for fans of crime fiction, but also true crime - a study of class, religion, and how a worldview which sees violence as an integral part of masculinity, and any empowerment of women as a threat to men's dominance, can only end in tragedy.
23
Bone China: The deliciously spooky Autumn read of 2019
24
Map of the Damage
The brilliant new novel from the acclaimed author of The Vanishing
25
Daughters of Liverpool
26
Heroes on the Home Front: A wonderfully uplifting wartime story
The second novel in the wonderfully uplifting Factory Girls series. Beth is longing for someone too - and it's not her husband on the front line...As the factory girls face hardship on the home front, they will discover that the heroes they need are already by their side.
27
Pack Up Your Troubles: War at Home 6
The sixth and final book in the War at Home series by the author of The Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the evocative backdrop of World War I, this is an epic family drama featuring the Hunters and their servants
28
Guardian of Lies
This epic novel is an unforgettably powerful story of love, loss and the long shadow of war, perfect for readers of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop.
29
Outrageous Fortune of Abel Morgan
After the wars in Restoration Europe and the death of his wife, Christopher Morgan tries to start afresh, buying a pub in the West Country. His new life is torn apart when his young son Abel is kidnapped and sold. From the shores of Constantinople to the western American isles, Christopher will sail far and wide to search for his missing son.
30
Chaperone: Film Tie-In
31
Bring up the Bodies
Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2012, the 2012 Costa Book of the Year and shortlisted for the 2013 Women's Prize for Fiction.
32
Moon Sister
The Moon Sister is the fifth instalment in The Seven Sisters series, by the Sunday Times bestseller Lucinda Riley.
33
Scorpion's Strike: Empire X
The tenth instalment of the bestselling Empire Series, which sees Marcus Aquila on a mission to Gaul where a bandit turns out to be a dangerous revolutionary.
34
Miner's Wife
Set in the Yorkshire Dales, The Miner's Wife is a sweeping family drama following a young woman who falls in love with a man who is not everything he seems . . .
35
Unquiet Heart
Bursting with the real-life drama of love in turbulent times, An Unquiet Heart is a magnificently wrought novel of passion and violence, triumph and tragedy.
36
Blood Queen
The beginning of a brand new historical fiction series by bestselling author Joanna Courtney. Discover the real women behind Shakespeare's most infamous queens . . .
37
Pearl Sister
The fourth epic, captivating novel in the bestselling Seven Sisters series by Lucinda Riley.
38
Gallows Pole
From his remote moorland home, David Hartley assembles a gang of weavers and land-workers to embark upon a criminal enterprise that will capsize the economy and become the biggest fraud in British history. They are the Cragg Vale Coiners and their business is 'clipping' the forging of coins, a treasonous offence punishable by death.
39
Keep the Home Fires Burning: A heart-warming wartime saga
"From the creator of the smash-hit ITV show Home Fires"--Cover.
40
Sea of Gold: Thomas Kydd 21
Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail. This will be the twenty-first novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Thomas Kydd series.
41
Pearl Thief: A sweeping, epic story of love and betrayal
A sweeping, epic story of love and betrayal from international bestselling author Fiona McIntosh, perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies's The Missing Sister and Kristin Hannah's The Great Alone. As Severine follows Mayek's trail, the tightly controlled life she's built around herself is shattered.
42
Wolf Hall: Winner of the Man Booker Prize
Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2009 Shortlisted for the Orange Prize and the Costa Novel Award Inspiration for the major TV drama starring Mark Rylance and Claire Foy 'Dizzyingly, dazzlingly good' Daily Mail 'Our most brilliant English writer' Guardian
43
Toymakers
44
Clockmaker's Daughter
The mesmerizing sixth novel from the bestselling author of The House at Riverton and The Lake House.
45
Deep River
A stunningly expansive family saga of anguish, reinvention and courage from the bestselling author of Matterhorn.
46
Orphans of Bell Lane: A powerful heartwarming saga
Orphaned at a young age, Rosa has always looked out for her younger sister, Grace, protecting her from the dangers and bullies of the workhouse. So when Grace is suddenly faced with a world without Rosa, she finds herself alone and forced to make difficult decisions about her future.
47
Varina
A stunning and timely novel about the chaos and devastation of the American Civil War, as seen through the memories of one woman looking back over it from old age.
48
Time's Convert
From the number one Sunday Times bestselling author Deborah Harkness is a spellbinding spin-off from the spectacular ALL SOULS trilogy, featuring much-loved characters Diana Bishop, Matthew Clairmont, Phoebe and more.
49
Well-Behaved Woman: a novel of New York's Gilded Age and a Vanderbilt who dared to break society's rules
The riveting novel of iron-willed Alva Vanderbilt and her illustrious family as they rule Gilded-Age New York, from the New York Times bestselling author of Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
50
Turn of Midnight
The exquisitely wrought and thrillingly gripping second novel set during the time of the Black Death from Minette Walters.