Browse categories
Home
  1. Fiction/
  2. Fiction: special features

Most popular Fiction: special features books

The most popular Fiction: special features books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Travelling Cat Chronicles
RECOMMENDED BY THOUSANDS OF INTERNATIONAL READERS - the tender feelgood story of a man's journey around Japan with a streetcat. Translated by Philip Gabriel, a translator of Murakami. INCLUDES SPECIALLY COMMISSIONED LINE-DRAWINGSA WATERSONES PAPERBACK OF THE YEAR 2017'Anyone who has ever unashamedly loved an animal will read this book with gratitude, for its understanding of an emotion that ennobles us as human beings, whether we value it or not' LYNNE TRUSS, Guardian`Bewitching..., as self-possessed and comforting as - well, a cat' SUNDAY TELEGRAPH `It has the warmth, painterly touch, and tenderness of a Studio Ghibli film - and it is a delight to read' FINANCIAL TIMES'A delightful tale of loyalty and friendship' JOHN BOYNE, IRISH TIMES****************************It's not the journey that counts, but who's at your side. Nana is on a road trip, but he is not sure where he is going. All that matters is that he can sit beside his beloved owner Satoru in the front seat of his silver van., Satoru is keen to visit three old friends from his youth, though Nana doesn't know why and Satoru won't say. Set against the backdrop of Japan's changing seasons and narrated with a rare gentleness and humour, Nana's story explores the wonder and thrill of life's unexpected detours. It is about the value of friendship and solitude, and knowing when to give and when to take., TRAVELLING CAT has already demonstrated its power to move thousands of readers with a message of kindness and truth. It shows, above all, how acts of love, both great and small, can transform our lives. 'Arikawa has a lightness of touch that elevates her story to a tale about loyalty and friendship ..., while speaking to our basic human need for companionship' JOHN BOYNE, Irish Times
2
Girl Who Lived Twice: A New Dragon Tattoo Story
The sixth in the Millennium series featuring THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO - more than 100 million copies sold worldwide.
3
Killing Commendatore
But then he discovers a strange painting in the attic and unintentionally begins a strange journey of self-discovery that involves a mysterious ringing bell, a precocious thirteen-year-old girl, a Nazi assassination attempt and a haunted underworld.
4
Festive Spirits: Three Christmas Stories
The perfect Christmas gift: three festive tales from the brilliant pen of Kate Atkinson.
5
Grand Union
6
Nearly Normal Family: A gripping, page-turning thriller with a shocking twist
A Nearly Normal Family is the gripping psychological thriller about a mother, a father, and their daughter who is accused of murder. How far would you go to protect your family?
7
Men Without Women: Stories
A dazzling Sunday Times bestselling collection of short stories from the beloved, internationally acclaimed Haruki Murakami. Here are vanishing cats and smoky bars, lonely hearts and mysterious women, baseball and the Beatles, woven together to tell stories that speak to us all.
8
Girl Who Reads on the Metro
Championing the intrinsic power of reading, this is a story for anyone who understands that a book can change a life.
9
Evening in Paradise: More Stories
A collection of previously uncompiled stories from the short-story master and literary sensation Lucia Berlin - author of A Manual for Cleaning Women.
10
Other End of the Line
The twenty-fourth thrilling mystery in the Inspector Montalbano series.
11
Piranhas
The first novel, already an international bestseller, by the author of Gomorrah, set in the organized crime world of the children's gangs of Naples.
12
Root of Evil
The second installment in Hakan Nesser's Inspector Barbarotti quintet: a series of letters detailing future murders arrives on Inspector Barbarotti's very own doorstep . . .
13
Chestnut Man: The gripping debut novel from the writer of The Killing
14
Fatherland Files
July 1932. When a drowned man is found in a freight elevator in Haus Vaterland, the giant pleasure palace on Potsdamer Platz, Inspector Gereon Rath is called in to investigate.
15
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
A beautiful, moving story about a small Japanese cafe that offers its visitors the chance to travel back in time, to find an answer to the question: what would you change if you could go back? For fans of The Guest Cat and If Cats Disappeared from the World.
16
Catholic School
A novel that takes the reader into a closed world of privilege and tradition: for fans of crime fiction, but also true crime - a study of class, religion, and how a worldview which sees violence as an integral part of masculinity, and any empowerment of women as a threat to men's dominance, can only end in tragedy.
17
Nursery
A REFRESHING HEROINE FOR OUR TIMES, FOR FANS OF WHY MUMMY DRINKS AND THE UNMUMSY MUM. 'Brilliant and funny' HUGH GRANT'I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!' MARIAN KEYES'I loved it.
18
Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe (Barnes & Noble Collectible Classics: Omnibus Edition)
Edgar Allan Poe is credited with having pioneered the short story, having perfected the tale of psychological horror, and having revolutionised modern poetics. The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar is part of Barnes & Noble's Leatherbound Classics. This omnibus edition collects all of Poe's fiction and poetry in a single volume.
19
Penguin Book of Christmas Stories: From Hans Christian Andersen to Angela Carter
20
Youth
21
Dependency
22
Maigret's Madwoman: Inspector Maigret #72
23
Uncommon Type: Some Stories
_________________________A TIMES BOOK OF THE YEARA collection of seventeen wonderful short stories which show that two-time Oscar winner Tom Hanks is as talented a writer as he is an actor. In his stories, Mr Hanks gracefully reaches that typewriter-worthy level.
24
Prefecture D
A collection of four novellas each set in the same world as Six Four
25
Brief Cases: The Dresden Files
Brief Cases is a new collection of Dresden Files stories which will include an original novella, from international bestseller Jim Butcher
26
Man Called Ove: The life-affirming bestseller that will brighten your day
The international phenomenon: quirky and bittersweet, heartbreaking yet outrageously funny. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Jonas Jonasson's The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of a Window and Disappeared.
27
Childhood
28
Vernon Subutex Two
The hunt for Virginie Despentes' enigmatic hero continues in the second title in her bestselling trilogy.
29
Tales of the Tattooed: An Anthology of Ink
The excruciating beauty, exoticism and mystery of tattoos is laid bare in this new collection of 12 stories ranging from the 1880s to 1940s.
30
Desire: Vintage Minis
You've just passed someone on the street who could be the love of your life, the person you're destined for - what do you do? In this book, five weird tales unlock the many-tongued language of desire, whether it takes the form of hunger, lust, sudden infatuation or the secret longings of the heart.
31
Lie With Me: 'Stunning and heart-gripping' Andre Aciman
32
Best Short Stories
The diverse tales selected for this volume display the astonishing virtuosity of Rudyard Kipling's early writings
33
Bloody Chamber and Other Stories
WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY HELEN SIMPSONFrom familiar fairy tales and legends - Red Riding Hood, Bluebeard, Puss in Boots, Beauty and the Beast, vampires and werewolves - Angela Carter has created an absorbing collection of dark, sensual, fantastic stories.
34
Pursuit: The Balvenie Stories Collection
Stories of human endeavour, endurance and resolve with an unexpected twist, published to celebrate a new range of The Balvenie whiskies - The Balvenie Stories. With contributions from Max Porter, Kamila Shamsie, Daisy Johnson and many more
35
For the Missing
The award-winning, global bestselling Swedish crime debut about a missing girl, and the detective who must return home and confront her darkest secrets in order to find her.
36
Diary of a Country Priest
37
Man Who Would Be King & Other Stories
This anthology of tales by Rudyard Kipling contains some of the most memorable and popular examples of the genre of which he is an undisputed master
38
Ten Loves of Mr Nishino
39
Good Trouble
Back at dinner, somebody said that the goose thinks it's a dog. No, it doesn't. It doesn't think it's a dog. The goose doesn't think. The goose just is. And what the goose is is goose. But goose is not goose, Robert thinks. Even the goose isn't goose.
40
Maigret and the Nahour Case: Inspector Maigret #65
41
Unreliable Man
From the internationally bestselling author of Sophie's World, a novel about loneliness, language, lies and the power of storytelling.
42
Exhalation
From an award-winning science fiction writer (whose short story `The Story of Your Life' was the basis for the Academy Award-nominated movie Arrival), the long-awaited second collection of stunningly original, humane, and already celebrated short stories.
43
Mr Salary: Faber Stories
My love for him felt so total and so annihilating that it was often impossible for me to see him clearly at all. Years ago, Sukie moved in with Nathan because her mother was dead and her father was difficult, and she had nowhere else to go.
44
Help the Witch
Sunday Times bestselling author Tom Cox 'brilliantly brings the ghost story into the twenty-first century, and beyond' (Benjamin Myers)
45
Trees For The Absentees
Young love, meddling aunts, heart-to-hearts with friends real and imagined, Philistia's world is that of an ordinary student. Except in Palestine, and with your father in jail, nothing is ordinary. With trees uprooted around her, she seeks a place of refuge, somewhere she can plant a memory for the ones she's lost, for the people who are vanishing.
46
Homeland
An epic and heartbreaking story of two best friends whose families are divided by the conflicting loyalties of terrorism.
47
History of Violence
The radical, urgent new novel from the author of The End of Eddy - a personal and powerful story of violence.History of Violence retraces the story of that night, and looks at immigration, class, racism, desire and the effects of trauma in an attempt to understand a history of violence, its origins, its reasons and its causes.
48
Tokyo Ueno Station
Akutagawa-award-winning author Yu Miri uses her outsider's perspective as a Zainichi (Korean-Japanese) writer to craft a novel of utmost importance to this moment, a powerful rebuke to the Imperial system and a sensitive, deeply felt depiction of the lives of Japan's most vulnerable people.
49
Prayer for the Living
Topical and timely, Booker Prize-winning author Ben Okri's new collection of short stories blur parallel realities and walk the line between darkness and magic.
50
Maigret and the Wine Merchant: Inspector Maigret #71