Browse categories

Most popular Earth sciences, geography, environment, planning books

The most popular Earth sciences, geography, environment, planning books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Prisoners of Geography: Ten Maps That Tell You Everything You Need to Know About Global Politics
A popular take on world events that puts the 'geo' back into geopolitics
2
No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference: Illustrated Edition
3
Elephant in My Kitchen: What the herd taught me about love, courage and survival
A powerful, moving sequel to the bestselling The Elephant Whisperer that tells the story of one woman's fight to protect a herd of elephants.
4
Wilding: The Return of Nature to a British Farm
Wilding tells the story of a remarkable experiment: the rewilding of the Knepp Estate in West Sussex, the restoration of natural ecological processes, and the stunning recovery of flora and fauna.
5
Prisoners of Geography: Our World Explained in 12 Simple Maps
A stunning abridged and illustrated edition of the international bestseller Prisoners of Geography, by acclaimed author Tim Marshall
6
Chernobyl: History of a Tragedy
7
No More Rubbish Excuses: Simple ways to reduce your waste and make a difference - your planet needs you!
8
Nature's Mutiny: How the Little Ice Age Transformed the West and Shaped the Present
A groundbreaking and internationally acclaimed work of environmental history tracing the great climate change of the seventeenth century: the `Little Ice Age'.
9
Exposure
The remarkable David-against-Goliath story of the lawyer who took on industrial conglomerate DuPont in a huge class action - and won. Soon to be a major motion picture.
10
Way Past Winter
When Mila's brother disappears, she believes he's been taken by the Bear, a hooded stranger of legend who sought shelter at their home. Mila and her sisters follow his trail into the frozen north, determined to find a way past winter and bring their brother home.
11
No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference: Illustrated Edition
12
Erebus: The Story of a Ship
It's a fascinating story that [Palin] brings full-bloodedly to life.' Guardian 'This is an incredible book . Carefully researched and well-crafted, it brings the story of a ship vividly to life.' Sunday Times'A great story .
13
Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.
14
This Is Not A Drill: An Extinction Rebellion Handbook
15
Sky Atlas: The Greatest Maps, Myths and Discoveries of the Universe
A visual history of how mankind has studied the sky throughout history, featuring some of the most stunning images ever created.
16
Beyond the Known: How Exploration Created the Modern World and Will Take Us to the Stars
Brilliant young polymath Andrew Rader provides a stunning history of human exploration and assesses where our desire to explore could take us next.
17
Lost Words: Spell Songs
A companion piece to The Lost Words - A Spell Book by Robert Macfarlane and Jackie Morris, this beautifully presented CD features exclusive new spells and artwork and a CD of new music from an incredible collaboration between Julie Fowlis, Karine Polwart, Seckou Keita, Kris Drever, Kerry Andrew, Rachel Newton, Beth Porter, Jim Molyneux.
18
Royal Geographical Society Puzzle Book: Pit your wits against the world's greatest explorers
19
Harvest: The Hidden Histories of Seven Natural Objects
Harvest follows their journey from the wildest parts of the planet, traversing Iceland, Indonesia, and Peru, to its urban centres, drawing on the voices of the gatherers, shearers and entrepreneurs who harvest, process and trade them.
20
Unruly Waters: How Mountain Rivers and Monsoons Have Shaped South Asia's History
21
National Geographic Almanac 2020
The latest dynamic annual for the 21st century.
22
Pacific: An Ocean of Wonders
This visually stunning publication highlights the importance of an ocean that covers very nearly a third of the surface of the globe, and which has dramatically shaped the world and people around it.
23
Ask an Ocean Explorer
How deep do sharks swim? Have more people been into space then the deep ocean? And what effect are we having on the health of our seas? Ask An Ocean Explorer answers these questions and more!
24
Erebus: The Story of a Ship
This beautifully produced volume - colour plates, outstanding maps - is a landmark achievement.' - Ken McGoogan, author of Fatal Passage`I absolutely loved it: I had to read it at one sitting .
25
Our Planet: The official companion to the ground-breaking Netflix original Attenborough series with a special foreword by David Attenborough
26
Stronghold: One man's quest to save the world's wild salmon - before it's too late
27
18 Miles: The Epic Drama of the Atmosphere and its Weather
28
Defying Limits: Lessons from the Edge of the Universe
29
F**k Fast Fashion: 101 ways to change how you shop and help save the planet
An illustrated, empowering little book giving 101 practical and proactive tips on how to shop more sustainably and help save the planet
30
Urban Aviary: A modern guide to city birds
31
No. More. Plastic.: What you can do to make a difference - the #2minutesolution
Discover what you can do to save the planet from plastic. Martin Dorey, anti-plastics expert, has been working to save our beaches from plastic for the past 10 years.
32
Pearson Baccalaureate: Environmental Systems and Societies bundle 2nd edition
Pearson Baccalaureate Environmental Systems and Societies, 2nd edition is acomprehensive textbook that covers all eight topics from the course, along with advice on Internal Assessment, the Extended Essay, and links to Theory of Knowledge. It will help you to prepare thoroughly and methodically for your examinations.
33
Immeasurable World: Journeys in Desert Places
But for those whose call deserts home, the 'hideous blanks' described by explorers are rich in resources and significance. Travelling to five continents over three years, visiting deserts both iconic and little-known, William Atkins discovers a realm that is as much internal as physical.
34
Underland: A Deep Time Journey
35
How To Break Up With Fast Fashion: A guilt-free guide to changing the way you shop - for good
A fun and practical guide to changing the way you shop, from a popular journalist who was The Pool's 'Wardrobe Stories' columnist
36
More From Less: The surprising story of how we learned to prosper using fewer resources - and what happens next
The remarkable story of how business has taken us beyond a tipping point where we have passed 'peak stuff', helping us become more prosperous while using fewer raw materials.
37
Erebus: The Story of a Ship
38
Big Ones: How Natural Disasters Have Shaped Us (And What We Can Do About Them)
A case study of the biggest natural disasters humanity has survived, andhow they have shaped our history.
39
Saving the Last Rhinos: The Life of a Frontline Conservationist
The remarkable story of Grant Fowlds, a conservationist who has dedicated his life to saving the last rhinos, vividly told with the help of Graham Spence, co-author of the bestselling The Elephant Whisperer.
40
Feral: Rewilding the Land, Sea and Human Life
How many of us sometimes feel that we are scratching at the walls of this life, seeking to find our way into a wider space beyond? That our mild, polite existence sometimes seems to crush the breath out of us? This book deals with these questions.
41
Girl of Ink & Stars
When Isabella's friend disappears, she volunteers to guide the search party. As a mapmaker's daughter, she's equipped with elaborate ink maps and knowledge of the stars, eager to navigate the island's forgotten heart. But beneath the mountains a legendary fire demon awakens, and her journey is fraught with danger ...
42
Designing Regenerative Cultures
"This book is a treasure for everyone who is looking for a guide to more sustainable living and a roadmap for re-designing our societies, regenerating our communities, cities and societies in harmony with natural systems and our home planet." Hazel Henderson
43
Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming
44
Nine Lives of John Ogilby: Britain's Master Map Maker and His Secrets
In this enlightening book, Alan Ereira brings a fascinating hidden history to light, and reveals that Ogilby's celebrated Britannia is far more than a harmless road atlas: it is, rather, filled with secrets designed to serve a conspiracy of kings and England's undoing. The Nine Lives of John Ogilby is the story of a remarkable man, and of a covert
45
Times Universal Atlas of the World
The authority and accuracy of a top range Times World Atlas at an affordable price. The atlas comes in a protective slipcase and has been fully updated with extra information next to each map.
46
Invisible Killer: The Rising Global Threat of Air Pollution - And How We Can Fight Back
47
How to Vegan: An illustrated guide
Have I told you I'm vegan yet?Who is this book for? It's for vegans, people who want to know about vegans, vegetarians who dabble in the dark arts of soya milk, meat-reducers and full carnivores looking to take the piss out of vegans.
48
More Plants Less Waste: Plant-based Recipes + Zero Waste Life Hacks with Purpose
Join Max La Manna on his journey to living more sustainably, celebrating the incredible power of aplant-based diet creating as minimal waste as possible. Max will show us how it easy it can be to think outside the box when it comes to a more conscious, simple lifestyle.
49
Target Grade 9 Edexcel GCSE (9-1) History Early Elizabethan England, 1558-1588 Workbook
Help your students catch up, keep up and make expected progress in Edexcel GCSE (9-1) History with this new series of intervention workbooks. Target workbooks are available for the schools' price of only GBP2.49 (RRP GBP4.99) when you quote 568OTHR at checkout.
50
Common Sense For The 21st Century: Only Nonviolent Rebellion Can Now Stop Climate Breakdown And Social Collapse