Browse categories

Most popular Earth sciences, geography, environment, planning books

The most popular Earth sciences, geography, environment, planning books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Prisoners of Geography: Ten Maps That Tell You Everything You Need to Know About Global Politics
A popular take on world events that puts the 'geo' back into geopolitics
2
Elephant in My Kitchen: What the herd taught me about love, courage and survival
A powerful, moving sequel to the bestselling The Elephant Whisperer that tells the story of one woman's fight to protect a herd of elephants.
3
No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference: Illustrated Edition
4
Prisoners of Geography: Our World Explained in 12 Simple Maps
A stunning abridged and illustrated edition of the international bestseller Prisoners of Geography, by acclaimed author Tim Marshall
5
This Is Not A Drill: An Extinction Rebellion Handbook
6
Way Past Winter
When Mila's brother disappears, she believes he's been taken by the Bear, a hooded stranger of legend who sought shelter at their home. Mila and her sisters follow his trail into the frozen north, determined to find a way past winter and bring their brother home.
7
Chernobyl: History of a Tragedy
8
Lost Words: Spell Songs
A companion piece to The Lost Words - A Spell Book by Robert Macfarlane and Jackie Morris, this beautifully presented CD features exclusive new spells and artwork and a CD of new music from an incredible collaboration between Julie Fowlis, Karine Polwart, Seckou Keita, Kris Drever, Kerry Andrew, Rachel Newton, Beth Porter, Jim Molyneux.
9
Sky Atlas: The Greatest Maps, Myths and Discoveries of the Universe
A visual history of how mankind has studied the sky throughout history, featuring some of the most stunning images ever created.
10
Exposure
The remarkable David-against-Goliath story of the lawyer who took on industrial conglomerate DuPont in a huge class action - and won. Soon to be a major motion picture.
11
Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.
12
Royal Geographical Society Puzzle Book: Pit your wits against the world's greatest explorers
13
Beyond the Known: How Exploration Created the Modern World and Will Take Us to the Stars
Brilliant young polymath Andrew Rader provides a stunning history of human exploration and assesses where our desire to explore could take us next.
14
Uninhabitable Earth: A Story of the Future
15
Harvest: The Hidden Histories of Seven Natural Objects
Harvest follows their journey from the wildest parts of the planet, traversing Iceland, Indonesia, and Peru, to its urban centres, drawing on the voices of the gatherers, shearers and entrepreneurs who harvest, process and trade them.
16
Underland: A Deep Time Journey
17
National Geographic Almanac 2020
The latest dynamic annual for the 21st century.
18
Our Planet
'The future of all life on this earth depends on our willingness to take action now' - David AttenboroughWhat we do in the next twenty years will determine the future of not just the natural world but humanity itself.
19
Pacific: An Ocean of Wonders
This visually stunning publication highlights the importance of an ocean that covers very nearly a third of the surface of the globe, and which has dramatically shaped the world and people around it.
20
Ask an Ocean Explorer
How deep do sharks swim? Have more people been into space then the deep ocean? And what effect are we having on the health of our seas? Ask An Ocean Explorer answers these questions and more!
21
More Plants Less Waste: Plant-based Recipes + Zero Waste Life Hacks with Purpose
Join Max La Manna on his journey to living more sustainably, celebrating the incredible power of aplant-based diet creating as minimal waste as possible. Max will show us how it easy it can be to think outside the box when it comes to a more conscious, simple lifestyle.
22
More From Less: The surprising story of how we learned to prosper using fewer resources - and what happens next
The remarkable story of how business has taken us beyond a tipping point where we have passed 'peak stuff', helping us become more prosperous while using fewer raw materials.
23
Erebus: The Story of a Ship
This beautifully produced volume - colour plates, outstanding maps - is a landmark achievement.' - Ken McGoogan, author of Fatal Passage`I absolutely loved it: I had to read it at one sitting .
24
Stronghold: One man's quest to save the world's wild salmon - before it's too late
25
Defying Limits: Lessons from the Edge of the Universe
26
18 Miles: The Epic Drama of the Atmosphere and its Weather
27
Wilding: The Return of Nature to a British Farm
Wilding tells the story of a remarkable experiment: the rewilding of the Knepp Estate in West Sussex, the restoration of natural ecological processes, and the stunning recovery of flora and fauna.
28
Immeasurable World: Journeys in Desert Places
But for those whose call deserts home, the 'hideous blanks' described by explorers are rich in resources and significance. Travelling to five continents over three years, visiting deserts both iconic and little-known, William Atkins discovers a realm that is as much internal as physical.
29
Saving the Last Rhinos: The Life of a Frontline Conservationist
The remarkable story of Grant Fowlds, a conservationist who has dedicated his life to saving the last rhinos, vividly told with the help of Graham Spence, co-author of the bestselling The Elephant Whisperer.
30
This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. the Climate
Forget everything you think you know about global warming. It's not about carbon - it's about capitalism. The good news is that we can seize this crisis to transform our failed economic system and build something radically better. This is a book that redefines its era.
31
Urban Aviary: A modern guide to city birds
32
Pearson Baccalaureate: Environmental Systems and Societies bundle 2nd edition
Pearson Baccalaureate Environmental Systems and Societies, 2nd edition is acomprehensive textbook that covers all eight topics from the course, along with advice on Internal Assessment, the Extended Essay, and links to Theory of Knowledge. It will help you to prepare thoroughly and methodically for your examinations.
33
Erebus: The Story of a Ship
34
Big Ones: How Natural Disasters Have Shaped Us (And What We Can Do About Them)
A case study of the biggest natural disasters humanity has survived, andhow they have shaped our history.
35
Common Sense For The 21st Century: Only Nonviolent Rebellion Can Now Stop Climate Breakdown And Social Collapse
36
Times Universal Atlas of the World
The authority and accuracy of a top range Times World Atlas at an affordable price. The atlas comes in a protective slipcase and has been fully updated with extra information next to each map.
37
Girl of Ink & Stars
When Isabella's friend disappears, she volunteers to guide the search party. As a mapmaker's daughter, she's equipped with elaborate ink maps and knowledge of the stars, eager to navigate the island's forgotten heart. But beneath the mountains a legendary fire demon awakens, and her journey is fraught with danger ...
38
Endeavour: The Ship and the Attitude that Changed the World
No one could have guessed that Endeavour would go on to become the most significant ship in the history of British exploration. Here, Peter Moore sets out to explore the different lives of this remarkable ship - from the acorn that grew into the oak that made her, to her rich and complex legacy.
39
Human Caused Global Warming
40
Good Bee: A Celebration of Bees - And How to Save Them
Bees need our help. But you can't save what you don't love. And you can't love what you don't know. The Good Bee is a celebration of this most vital and mysterious of nature's wizards.
41
Invisible Killer: The Rising Global Threat of Air Pollution - And How We Can Fight Back
42
Nine Lives of John Ogilby: Britain's Master Map Maker and His Secrets
In this enlightening book, Alan Ereira brings a fascinating hidden history to light, and reveals that Ogilby's celebrated Britannia is far more than a harmless road atlas: it is, rather, filled with secrets designed to serve a conspiracy of kings and England's undoing. The Nine Lives of John Ogilby is the story of a remarkable man, and of a covert
43
Bloom: From Food to Fuel, The Epic Story of How Algae Can Save Our World
From the air we breathe, to our oceans and plant life, algae has helped create and sustain our world - and may just save it...
44
Letters to the Earth: Writing to a Planet in Crisis
Creation is the antidote to despair. 'All power to this amazing project.' Joanne Harris '[A] wonderful little book' Jerome Flynn 'A must read for anyone who lives on earth.' Bella Lack
45
Ice at the End of the World: An Epic Journey Into Greenland's Buried Past and Our Perilous Future
A riveting account of the explorers and scientists racing to understand Greenland's rapidly melting ice: a dramatic harbinger of climate change.
46
A Walk with Charles Dickens along the Thames
47
Feral: Rewilding the Land, Sea and Human Life
How many of us sometimes feel that we are scratching at the walls of this life, seeking to find our way into a wider space beyond? That our mild, polite existence sometimes seems to crush the breath out of us? This book deals with these questions.
48
How to Draw a Map
How to Draw a Map is a fascinating meditation on the centuries-old art of map-making, from the first astronomical maps to the sophisticated GPS guides of today.
49
Target Grade 9 Edexcel GCSE (9-1) History Early Elizabethan England, 1558-1588 Workbook
Help your students catch up, keep up and make expected progress in Edexcel GCSE (9-1) History with this new series of intervention workbooks. Target workbooks are available for the schools' price of only GBP2.49 (RRP GBP4.99) when you quote 568OTHR at checkout.
50
Erebus: The Story of a Ship
It's a fascinating story that [Palin] brings full-bloodedly to life.' Guardian 'This is an incredible book . Carefully researched and well-crafted, it brings the story of a ship vividly to life.' Sunday Times'A great story .