Browse categories

Most popular Biography: literary books

The most popular Biography: literary books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Will
2
Time Lived, Without Its Flow
A beautiful, short philosophical memoir of maternal loss and grief, for readers of Max Porter and Helen MacDonald.
3
This Really Isn't About You
A disarmingly tender, funny and honest memoir of grief, love and finding your way in life.
4
Killing It: A Memoir of Love, Life, Death and Dinner
A deeply personal female narrative memoir about life, love, death, and dinner, set in the world of butchery.
5
Face Pressed Against a Window: A Memoir
An evocative and candid memoir that charts the key moments in the life of Britain's most successful bookseller.
6
Fierce Bad Rabbits: The Tales Behind Children's Picture Books
7
All Things Consoled
A poignant, complex and hugely resonant memoir about the shift from being a daughter to a guardian and caregiver, by Giller Prize-winning author.
8
Boy: Tales of Childhood
As a boy, all sorts of unusual things happened to Roald Dahl. There was the time he and four school friends got their revenge on beastly Mrs Prachett in her sweet shop. There are stories of holidays in fishing boats, African adventures and the days of tasting chocolate for Cadbury's. This is Roald Dahl's autobiography.
9
Mrs Gaskell and Me: Two Women, Two Love Stories, Two Centuries Apart
From the author of the beloved Bleaker House, Mrs Gaskell and Me is the story of two very modern women and their two love affairs, separated by a hundred and fifty years.
10
Kafka's Last Trial: The Case of a Literary Legacy
The gripping story of the legal battle over the work of perhaps the most iconic writer of the twentieth century: a priceless cache of papers, an unprecedented international custody battle, and the unlikely journey of a trove of manuscripts from Prague to Palestine.
11
Reporter: A Memoir
12
Restoration Heart: A Memoir
Restoration Heart is William Cash's 'restore-a-wreck' memoir of house and heart.
13
World in Thirty-Eight Chapters or Dr Johnson's Guide to Life
Part portrait of Britain's greatest man of letters, part guide to life, a witty and erudite re-evaluation of Dr Johnson's enduring importance and relevance
14
Somewhere Becoming Rain: Collected Writings on Philip Larkin
Renowned critic, bestselling author and award-winning poet Clive James offers an exploration and celebration of one of his favourite writers, Philip Larkin.
15
Everyday Madness: On Grief, Anger, Loss and Love
'You will find all of life in this' Deborah Levy
16
Life and Times of a Very British Man
17
Help Me!: One Woman's Quest to Find Out if Self-Help Really Can Change Her Life
The irresistibly funny and very moving story of one woman's quest to find out if self-help really can change her life.
18
Where the Hornbeam Grows: A Journey in Search of a Garden
A stunning literary memoir about inheritance, loneliness and the healing power of gardening, about how nurturing a garden can help make a home in an unfamiliar place
19
Mutual Admiration Society: How Dorothy L. Sayers and Her Oxford Circle Remade the World For Women
In Mutual Admiration Society Royal Historical Society fellow Mo Moulton relates the remarkable friendship of renowned crime novelist Dorothy L. Sayers and five other women at the vanguard of equal rights, who were among the first to receive full degrees from Oxford University.
20
Becoming Beauvoir: A Life
21
Apology
22
Cost of Living
23
Bell Jar
I was supposed to be having the time of my life. When Esther Greenwood wins an internship on a New York fashion magazine in 1953, she is elated, believing she will finally realise her dream to become a writer.
24
Frieda: the original Lady Chatterley
The Times Historical Fiction Book of the Month. The moving story of Frieda von Richthofen, a German aristocrat whose affair with the penniless, ambitious English writer, D. H. Lawrence, shocked society and inspired his classic novel Lady Chatterley's Lover
25
Arrow in the Blue
The first volume of the remarkable autobiography of Arthur Koestler, author of Darkness at Noon. In 1931, Arthur Koestler joined the Communist Party, an event he felt to be second only in importance to his birth in shaping his destiny.
26
I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings
One of America's most important classics, the first and best loved volume of Maya Angelou's bestselling seven-volume autobiography
27
Going Solo
As a young man, Roald Dahl's adventures took him from London to East Africa, until the Second World War began and he became a RAF pilot. This title features stories of whizzing through the air in a Tiger Moth Plane, encounters with deadly green mambas and hungry lions, and the terrible crash that led him to storytelling.
28
On Nineteen Eighty-Four: A Biography
29
Let's Hope for the Best
30
Appointment in Arezzo: A friendship with Muriel Spark
This book is an intimate, fond and funny memoir of one of the greatest novelists of the last century. This colourful, personal, anecdotal, indiscreet and admiring memoir charts the course of Muriel Spark's life revealing her as she really was.
31
Real Roald Dahl
Here, the author explores the life of beloved children's author Roald Dahl, revealing some of the little-known events that shaped his life and work.
32
Mad, Bad, Dangerous to Know: The Fathers of Wilde, Yeats and Joyce
33
My House of Sky: A Life of J A Baker
This is the first book about the enigmatic author J A Baker, author of The Peregrine.
34
Eternal Boy: The Life of Kenneth Grahame
The story of Kenneth Grahame, author of the children's classic Wind in the Willows, and of the vision of English pastoral that inspired it.
35
Patrick O'Brian: A Very Private Life
An intimate portrait of Patrick O'Brian, written by his stepson Nikolai Tolstoy.
36
Down in the Valley: A Writer's Landscape
37
Conversations with Dickens: A Fictional Dialogue Based on Biographical Facts
Imagined by one of the world's foremost Dickens scholars, this fictionalised conversation presents the essential biography of Britain's most beloved novelist.
38
Life of Saul Bellow: Love and Strife, 1965-2005
39
Shapeless Unease: A Year of Not Sleeping
A poignant, urgent memoir about insomnia from the acclaimed author of The Western WindSleep.
40
Conversations with Casanova: A Fictional Dialogue Based on Biographical Facts
Imagined by one of the world's leading experts on Casanova, this fictionalised conversation presents the essential biography of history's most famous lover.
41
Jane Austen: Her Life, Her Times, Her Novels
This book traces the author's life and times, her personal relationships, the attitudes and customs of the time that shaped her and were in turn shaped by her work, and the places where she lived, worked and set her novels.
42
Adrian Henri: I Want Everything To Happen!
43
Essays
44
Lowborn: Growing Up, Getting Away and Returning to Britain's Poorest Towns
45
Square Haunting: Five Women, Freedom and London Between the Wars
'I like this London life . In an era when women's freedoms were fast expanding, they each sought a space where they could live, love and - above all - work independently. H.
46
Down and Out in Paris and London
Deals with the underworld of society. In this book, the author documents a world of unrelenting drudgery and squalor - sleeping in bug-infested hostels and doss houses of last resort, working as a dishwasher in Paris' vile 'Hotel X', surviving on scraps and cigarette butts, living alongside tramps, a star-gazing pavement artist and more.
47
Inadvertent
An accessible and personal "confession" of the creative process of the award-winning Norwegian novelist Karl Ove Knausgaard
48
Rudyard Kipling
This definitive biography unravels the intricate story of a misunderstood genius who became Britain's most famous author in his day, published with a brand new introduction on the 150th anniversary of Rudyard Kipling's birth.
49
Passage of Love
An extraordinarily vivid novel about a marriage and a husband's insatiable need to create.
50
Mother of the Bront s: When Maria Met Patrick
The first biography of Maria Branwell reveals a remarkable woman who has spent 200 years in the shadow of her extraordinary children, Charlotte, Emily and Anne Bront .