Browse categories

Most popular Biography: literary books

The most popular Biography: literary books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Will
2
Time Lived, Without Its Flow
A beautiful, short philosophical memoir of maternal loss and grief, for readers of Max Porter and Helen MacDonald.
3
Boy: Tales of Childhood
As a boy, all sorts of unusual things happened to Roald Dahl. There was the time he and four school friends got their revenge on beastly Mrs Prachett in her sweet shop. There are stories of holidays in fishing boats, African adventures and the days of tasting chocolate for Cadbury's. This is Roald Dahl's autobiography.
4
I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings
One of America's most important classics, the first and best loved volume of Maya Angelou's bestselling seven-volume autobiography
5
This Really Isn't About You
A disarmingly tender, funny and honest memoir of grief, love and finding your way in life.
6
Reporter: A Memoir
7
Killing It: A Memoir of Love, Life, Death and Dinner
A deeply personal female narrative memoir about life, love, death, and dinner, set in the world of butchery.
8
Fierce Bad Rabbits: The Tales Behind Children's Picture Books
9
Face Pressed Against a Window: A Memoir
An evocative and candid memoir that charts the key moments in the life of Britain's most successful bookseller.
10
All Things Consoled
A poignant, complex and hugely resonant memoir about the shift from being a daughter to a guardian and caregiver, by Giller Prize-winning author.
11
Essays
12
Mrs Gaskell and Me: Two Women, Two Love Stories, Two Centuries Apart
From the author of the beloved Bleaker House, Mrs Gaskell and Me is the story of two very modern women and their two love affairs, separated by a hundred and fifty years.
13
Kafka's Last Trial: The Case of a Literary Legacy
The gripping story of the legal battle over the work of perhaps the most iconic writer of the twentieth century: a priceless cache of papers, an unprecedented international custody battle, and the unlikely journey of a trove of manuscripts from Prague to Palestine.
14
Restoration Heart: A Memoir
Restoration Heart is William Cash's 'restore-a-wreck' memoir of house and heart.
15
Mutual Admiration Society: How Dorothy L. Sayers and Her Oxford Circle Remade the World For Women
In Mutual Admiration Society Royal Historical Society fellow Mo Moulton relates the remarkable friendship of renowned crime novelist Dorothy L. Sayers and five other women at the vanguard of equal rights, who were among the first to receive full degrees from Oxford University.
16
World in Thirty-Eight Chapters or Dr Johnson's Guide to Life
Part portrait of Britain's greatest man of letters, part guide to life, a witty and erudite re-evaluation of Dr Johnson's enduring importance and relevance
17
Everyday Madness: On Grief, Anger, Loss and Love
'You will find all of life in this' Deborah Levy
18
Life and Times of a Very British Man
19
Help Me!: One Woman's Quest to Find Out if Self-Help Really Can Change Her Life
The irresistibly funny and very moving story of one woman's quest to find out if self-help really can change her life.
20
Where the Hornbeam Grows: A Journey in Search of a Garden
A stunning literary memoir about inheritance, loneliness and the healing power of gardening, about how nurturing a garden can help make a home in an unfamiliar place
21
Apology
22
Mad, Bad, Dangerous to Know: The Fathers of Wilde, Yeats and Joyce
23
Arrow in the Blue
The first volume of the remarkable autobiography of Arthur Koestler, author of Darkness at Noon. The second volume of Arthur Koestler's autobiography is The Invisible Writing.
24
Frieda: the original Lady Chatterley
The Times Historical Fiction Book of the Month. The moving story of Frieda von Richthofen, a German aristocrat whose affair with the penniless, ambitious English writer, D. H. Lawrence, shocked society and inspired his classic novel Lady Chatterley's Lover
25
Down and Out in Paris and London
Deals with the underworld of society. In this book, the author documents a world of unrelenting drudgery and squalor - sleeping in bug-infested hostels and doss houses of last resort, working as a dishwasher in Paris' vile 'Hotel X', surviving on scraps and cigarette butts, living alongside tramps, a star-gazing pavement artist and more.
26
On Nineteen Eighty-Four: A Biography
27
Appointment in Arezzo: A friendship with Muriel Spark
This book is an intimate, fond and funny memoir of one of the greatest novelists of the last century. This colourful, personal, anecdotal, indiscreet and admiring memoir charts the course of Muriel Spark's life revealing her as she really was.
28
Three-a-Penny
A rediscovered classic memoir - a fascinating insight into the life of a crime writer during and after the First World War - a woman ahead of her time. With a new introduction by Sophie Hannah
29
Down in the Valley: A Writer's Landscape
30
Jane Austen: Her Life, Her Times, Her Novels
This book traces the author's life and times, her personal relationships, the attitudes and customs of the time that shaped her and were in turn shaped by her work, and the places where she lived, worked and set her novels.
31
Patrick O'Brian: A Very Private Life
An intimate portrait of Patrick O'Brian, written by his stepson Nikolai Tolstoy.
32
Real Roald Dahl
Here, the author explores the life of beloved children's author Roald Dahl, revealing some of the little-known events that shaped his life and work.
33
Let's Hope for the Best
34
Rosie: Scenes from a Vanished Life
*The Sunday Times Top Ten Bestseller*Rose Tremain (or Rosie as she was then) grew up in post-war London - a city still partly in ruins, where both food and affection were fiercely rationed.
35
Somewhere Becoming Rain: Collected Writings on Philip Larkin
Renowned critic, bestselling author and award-winning poet Clive James offers an exploration and celebration of one of his favourite writers, Philip Larkin.
36
My House of Sky: A Life of J A Baker
This is the first book about the enigmatic author J A Baker, author of The Peregrine.
37
Eternal Boy: The Life of Kenneth Grahame
The story of Kenneth Grahame, author of the children's classic Wind in the Willows, and of the vision of English pastoral that inspired it.
38
Going Solo
As a young man, Roald Dahl's adventures took him from London to East Africa, until the Second World War began and he became a RAF pilot. This title features stories of whizzing through the air in a Tiger Moth Plane, encounters with deadly green mambas and hungry lions, and the terrible crash that led him to storytelling.
39
Village Christmas: And Other Notes on the English Year
Village Christmas: And Other Notes on the English Year (Penguin Modern Classics)
40
Conversations with Dickens: A Fictional Dialogue Based on Biographical Facts
Imagined by one of the world's foremost Dickens scholars, this fictionalised conversation presents the essential biography of Britain's most beloved novelist.
41
Life of Saul Bellow: Love and Strife, 1965-2005
42
Conversations with Casanova: A Fictional Dialogue Based on Biographical Facts
Imagined by one of the world's leading experts on Casanova, this fictionalised conversation presents the essential biography of history's most famous lover.
43
Depression: Vintage Minis
How does a writer compose a suicide note? This was not a question that the prize-winning novelist had ever contemplated before. In this true account of his depression, he describes an illness that reduced him from a successful writer to a man arranging his own destruction.
44
Adrian Henri: I Want Everything To Happen!
45
Oscar: A Life
The first major biography of Oscar Wilde in thirty years is the most complete telling of his life and times to date.
46
Child's Christmas in Wales
Dylan Thomas's classic account of his childhood Christmases, newly issued in with full colour illustrations by Peter Bailey in this beautiful, cloth-bound hardback gift edition for Thomas's centenary.
47
Cost of Living
48
Inadvertent
An accessible and personal "confession" of the creative process of the award-winning Norwegian novelist Karl Ove Knausgaard
49
Rudyard Kipling
This definitive biography unravels the intricate story of a misunderstood genius who became Britain's most famous author in his day, published with a brand new introduction on the 150th anniversary of Rudyard Kipling's birth.
50
Passage of Love
An extraordinarily vivid novel about a marriage and a husband's insatiable need to create.