Browse categories
Home
  1. Biography & True Stories/
  2. Biography: general

Most popular Biography: general books

The most popular Biography: general books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Face It: A Memoir
'I was saying things in songs that female singers didn't really say back then. I wasn't submissive or begging him to come back, I was kicking his ass, kicking him out, kicking my own ass too. My Blondie character was an inflatable doll but with a dark, provocative, aggressive side. I was playing it up, yet I was very serious.'
2
Elephant in My Kitchen: What the herd taught me about love, courage and survival
A powerful, moving sequel to the bestselling The Elephant Whisperer that tells the story of one woman's fight to protect a herd of elephants.
3
Gotta Get Theroux This: My life and strange times in television
A funny, insightful memoir by much-loved documentary maker Louis Theroux, who takes us on a weird and wonderful journey through his life and two decades of groundbreaking television.
4
Me: Elton John Official Autobiography
The first and only official autobiography by the much-loved global icon Elton John
5
Wham! George & Me: The Sunday Times Bestseller
6
Twas The Nightshift Before Christmas: Festive hospital diaries from the author of million-copy hit This is Going to Hurt
From the multi-award-winning and million-copy bestselling author of This is Going to Hurt comes Twas The Nightshift Before Christmas, a brand new gift book that alternates between the hilarious and the heartbreaking, in a love letter to all those who spend their festive season on the front line.
7
Book of Gutsy Women: Favourite Stories of Courage and Resilience
Hillary Rodham Clinton and her daughter, Chelsea, share the stories of the gutsy women who have inspired them-women with the courage to stand up to the status quo, ask hard questions, and get the job done.
8
Hard Way: Adapt, Survive and Win
A searing, raw and honest memoir of television's greatest SAS veteran. Sergeant Major Mark 'Billy' Billingham recounts his life, twenty-seven years of military service as an elite soldier, and new-found fame on the hugely successful Channel Four series SAS: Who dares Wins.
9
Lady in Waiting: My Extraordinary Life in the Shadow of the Crown
The remarkable life of Lady in Waiting to Princess Margaret who was also a Maid of Honour at the Queen's Coronation - and is a character in The Crown this autumn. Anne Glenconner reveals the real events behind The Crown as well as her own life of drama, tragedy and courage, with the wonderful wit and extraordinary resilience which define her.
10
Autobiography: The Sunday Times Bestseller
11
Behind the Mask: My Autobiography
________________________________ 'Tyson Fury is an amazing real-life champion' SYLVESTER STALLONE'Incredible stories... you don't have to be a boxing fan to enjoy it' SCOTT MILLS, BBC RADIO 1'A must-read for any boxing fan.
12
Tall Tales and Wee Stories: The Best of Billy Connolly
Outrageously funny story-telling from the nation's favourite comedian. Tall Tales and Wee Stories brings together the 'Best of Billy Connolly'. 'One of stand-up's great naturals. No one told a story better.' Guardian
13
How to Grow Old: A middle-aged man moaning
However, if you happen to want to know what a white, heterosexual, middle-aged man thinks of getting old - from the struggle to stay fit, keep hold of your friends or stay relevant, to why I'm better at doing a dump now than at any time in my life - this book could very well be exactly what you have been looking for.
14
Brief Answers to the Big Questions: the final book from Stephen Hawking
The final book from Professor Stephen Hawking, the bestselling author of A BRIEF HISTORY OF TIME and arguably the most famous scientist of our age, BRIEF ANSWERS TO THE BIG QUESTIONS is a profound, accessible and timely reflection on the biggest questions in science.
15
Unknown Kimi Raikkonen
The authorised biography of cult hero Finnish Formula One world champion Kimi Raikkoenen - the closest thing we'll ever get to his autobiography.
16
Warning
An unprecedented behind-the-scenes portrait of the Trump presidency from the anonymous senior official whose first words of warning about the president rocked the nation's capital.
17
Beautiful Ones
18
Hitler: Only the World Was Enough
19
Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah
For disillusioned writer and itinerant barnstormer Richard Bach, belief is as real as a full tank of gas and sparks firing in the cylinders ... until he meets Donald Shimoda - former mechanic and self-described messiah who can make wrenches fly and Richard's imagination soar...
20
Becoming
In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of the United States of America - the first African-American to serve in that role - she helped create the most welcoming and inclusive White House in history, while also establishing herself as a powerful advocate for women and girls in the U.S. and around the world, dramatically changing the ways that families pursue healthier and more active lives, and standing with her husband as he led America through some of its most harrowing moments. Along the way, she showed us a few dance moves, crushed Carpool Karaoke, and raised two down-to-earth daughters under an unforgiving media glare. Product Information: ISBN: 9780241334140 Author: Michelle Obama Publisher: Penguin Format: Hardback Pages: 426 Dimensions: 24 x 16 x 4cm
21
Mindf*ck: Inside Cambridge Analytica's Plot to Break the World
22
Robbie Fowler: My Life In Football: Goals, Glory & The Lessons I've Learnt
23
Rihanna
Rihanna invites you into her world with this stunning visual autobiography.
24
Hitch in Time
Living on his wits, sleeping rough and accepting lifts that get him into bizarre and often dangerous situations, Andy's six years spent on the road stand as a unique record of life as it was in the late 1970s and early 80s. In this hilarious memoir, they are juxtaposed with a host of earlier memories, resulting in dazzling and funny stories.
25
Good Night Stories For Rebel Girls 2
100 new bedtime stories, each inspired by the life and adventures of extraordinary women from Nefertiti to Beyonce. The unique narrative style of "Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls" transforms each biography in a fairy-tale, filling the readers with wonder and with a burning curiosity to know more about each hero.
26
Not Afraid: The Evolution of Eminem
27
Will
28
Headlines and Hedgerows: A Memoir
29
Shut up Legs!: My Wild Ride On and Off the Bike
Push until it hurts, then push some moreEven by the standards of a sport that requires enormous stamina and capacity for suffering, Jens Voigt is in a class on his own. Beloved by cycling fans for his madcap one-man breakaways as much as his sense of humour and quotable catchphrases, Jens is one of the most popular personalities in cycling.
30
Robin
From New York Times culture reporter Dave Itzkoff, the definitive biography of Robin Williams - a compelling portrait of one of America's most beloved and misunderstood entertainers.
31
Crown: The Official History Behind Season 3: Political Scandal, Personal Struggle and the Years that Defined Elizabeth II, 1956-1977
32
Ordinary Joe
33
I Am Malala: How One Girl Stood Up for Education and Changed the World
'Malala is an inspiration to girls and women all over the world.' - J.K. RowlingWritten by Malala in collaboration with critically acclaimed author, Patricia McCormick, this children's edition tells the remarkable story of a girl who knew from a young age that she wanted to change the world - and did.
34
Complete MAUS
Tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. In this title, Vladek's harrowing story of survival is woven into the author's account of his tortured relationship with his aging father.
35
Spy and the Traitor: The Greatest Espionage Story of the Cold War
36
Every Day Is Extra
John Kerry tells the story of his extraordinary life of public service, from decorated Vietnam veteran to five-term United States senator, 2004 Democratic presidential candidate, and Secretary of State for four years: a personal and candid memoir by a witness to some of the most important events of our recent history, including the Iran nuclear deal and the Paris climate accords.
37
Ian McKellen: The Biography
The intimate and definitive biography of Ian McKellen, theatrical knight and a national treasure.
38
Time Lived, Without Its Flow
A beautiful, short philosophical memoir of maternal loss and grief, for readers of Max Porter and Helen MacDonald.
39
Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing: Life, Death and the Thrill of the Catch - The Sunday Times Bestseller inspired by the hit BBC TV series
40
How I Became The Fittest Woman On Earth: My Story So Far
41
George Best: A Memoir: A unique biography of a football icon: The Perfect Gift for Football Fans
A unique biography of football icon, George Best, written by journalist and broadcaster, Michael Parkinson
42
In Pieces
The intimate and inspiring memoir from Academy Award-winning actor Sally Field.
43
Diary of a Bookseller
44
Roger Daltrey: Thanks a lot Mr Kibblewhite, The Sunday Times Bestseller: My Story
45
Hell Is Round the Corner: The Unique No-Holds Barred Autobiography
46
My Thoughts Exactly: The No.1 Bestseller
47
Unnatural Causes: 'An absolutely brilliant book. I really recommend it, I don't often say that' Jeremy Vine, BBC Radio 2
48
You Know it Makes Sense: Lessons from the Derek Trotter School of Business (and life)
It's a rocky road full of potholes, speed cameras, people who don't indicate, mouthy cyclists, and all sorts of obstacles designed to get on your tits. You Know It Makes Sense is the definitive business guide, designed pacifically to help steer you in the right direction.
49
Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill
This enchanting collection brings together hundreds of Winston Churchill's wittiest remarks, as a record of all that was best about this endearing, conceited, talented and wildly funny Englishman.
50
Shine: Discover a Brighter You