Browse categories

Most popular Autobiography: literary books

The most popular Autobiography: literary books currently available. Updated weekly.
#
Cover
Title
Description
1
Will
2
Time Lived, Without Its Flow
A beautiful, short philosophical memoir of maternal loss and grief, for readers of Max Porter and Helen MacDonald.
3
This Really Isn't About You
A disarmingly tender, funny and honest memoir of grief, love and finding your way in life.
4
Killing It: A Memoir of Love, Life, Death and Dinner
A deeply personal female narrative memoir about life, love, death, and dinner, set in the world of butchery.
5
Face Pressed Against a Window: A Memoir
An evocative and candid memoir that charts the key moments in the life of Britain's most successful bookseller.
6
Fierce Bad Rabbits: The Tales Behind Children's Picture Books
7
All Things Consoled
A poignant, complex and hugely resonant memoir about the shift from being a daughter to a guardian and caregiver, by Giller Prize-winning author.
8
Boy: Tales of Childhood
As a boy, all sorts of unusual things happened to Roald Dahl. There was the time he and four school friends got their revenge on beastly Mrs Prachett in her sweet shop. There are stories of holidays in fishing boats, African adventures and the days of tasting chocolate for Cadbury's. This is Roald Dahl's autobiography.
9
Reporter: A Memoir
10
Restoration Heart: A Memoir
Restoration Heart is William Cash's 'restore-a-wreck' memoir of house and heart.
11
Everyday Madness: On Grief, Anger, Loss and Love
'You will find all of life in this' Deborah Levy
12
Life and Times of a Very British Man
13
Help Me!: One Woman's Quest to Find Out if Self-Help Really Can Change Her Life
The irresistibly funny and very moving story of one woman's quest to find out if self-help really can change her life.
14
Where the Hornbeam Grows: A Journey in Search of a Garden
A stunning literary memoir about inheritance, loneliness and the healing power of gardening, about how nurturing a garden can help make a home in an unfamiliar place
15
Apology
16
Cost of Living
17
Bell Jar
I was supposed to be having the time of my life. When Esther Greenwood wins an internship on a New York fashion magazine in 1953, she is elated, believing she will finally realise her dream to become a writer.
18
I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings
One of America's most important classics, the first and best loved volume of Maya Angelou's bestselling seven-volume autobiography
19
Going Solo
As a young man, Roald Dahl's adventures took him from London to East Africa, until the Second World War began and he became a RAF pilot. This title features stories of whizzing through the air in a Tiger Moth Plane, encounters with deadly green mambas and hungry lions, and the terrible crash that led him to storytelling.
20
Let's Hope for the Best
21
Down in the Valley: A Writer's Landscape
22
Shapeless Unease: A Year of Not Sleeping
A poignant, urgent memoir about insomnia from the acclaimed author of The Western WindSleep.
23
Essays
24
Lowborn: Growing Up, Getting Away and Returning to Britain's Poorest Towns
25
Inadvertent
An accessible and personal "confession" of the creative process of the award-winning Norwegian novelist Karl Ove Knausgaard
26
Passage of Love
An extraordinarily vivid novel about a marriage and a husband's insatiable need to create.
27
Translation as Transhumance
A humanist meditation on the art of translation that also serves as a fascinating account of wartime danger, hospitality and human kinship.
28
On Leopard Rock: A Life of Adventures
29
Lazy Tour of Two Idle Apprentices
The Lazy Tour of Two Idle Apprentices is a charming evocation of the adventures Charles Dickens and Wilkie Collins experienced on a walking tour of the north-west of England.
30
Rosie: Scenes from a Vanished Life
*The Sunday Times Top Ten Bestseller*Rose Tremain (or Rosie as she was then) grew up in post-war London - a city still partly in ruins, where both food and affection were fiercely rationed.
31
Small Memories
A delightful insight into the formation of an artist who would become one of the world's most respected writers. Born in 1922 in the tiny Portuguese village of Azinhaga, Jose Saramago was only a baby when his family moved to a series of cramped lodgings in a working-class neighbourhood of Lisbon.
32
Walden
WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY BENJAMIN MARKOVITSIn 1845 Thoreau, a Harvard-educated 28-year-old, went to live by himself in the woods in Massachusetts.
33
This Really Isn't About You
A disarmingly tender, funny and honest memoir of grief, illness and finding your way in life.
34
Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?
The shocking, heart-breaking - and often very funny - true story behind Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit. In 1985 Jeanette Winterson's first novel, Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, was published. It was a story of survival. This book is that story's the silent twin.
35
Meet Me in Buenos Aires
An intensely personal and revealing biography of life with Eric Hobsbawm one of the 20th Century's most influential intellectualsA rich and fascinating life - from pre-war Vienna via an emigre childhood in the UK and on to Italy, the Congo and the US.
36
London Lover: My Weekend That Lasted Thirty Years
37
Son of Mine
Son of Mine is a compelling account of unknown heritage, of life gifts and losses, and the reclamations of parenting. It is dramatic, poignant and uplifting. But above all, it is a memoir of shock, discovery and reconciliation, all delivered in exquisite prose.
38
World of Yesterday: Memoirs of a European
Austrian writer Stefan Zweig's final work, posted to his publisher the day before his tragic death, brings the destruction of a war-torn Europe vividly to rise.
39
Family Business
40
Help Me!: One Woman's Quest to Find Out if Self-Help Really Can Change Her Life
The irresistibly funny and very moving story of one woman's quest to find out if self-help really can change her life.
41
My Mother, The Bearded Lady: The Selected Letters of Miles Kington
A collection of letters spanning the life and career of one of our best-loved humorists, Punch columnist Miles Kington
42
Boy and Going Solo
Roald Dahl wasn't always a writer. Once he was just a schoolboy. Have you ever wondered what he was like growing up? This is his autobiography.
43
Moveable Feast: The Restored Edition
Featuring a personal foreword by Patrick Hemingway, Ernest's sole surviving son, and an introduction by the editor and grandson of the author, Sean Hemingway, this new edition also includes a number of unfinished, never-before-published Paris sketches revealing experiences that Hemingway had with his son Jack and his first wife, Hadley.
44
Invisible Writing
The second volume of the remarkable autobiography of Arthur Koestler, author of Darkness at Noon. Taken together, Arthur Koestler's volumes of autobiography constitute an unrivalled study of a twentieth-century life.
45
All the Lives We Ever Lived: Seeking Solace in Virginia Woolf
A wise, moving debut about the pain of losing a parent and the power of literature to light our way through it.
46
Against The Law
A riveting account of what it meant to be a homosexual in 1950s Britain, by a central figure in the infamous Montagu Case - a landmark in the gay history of Britain.
47
Constellations: Reflections From Life
An extraordinarily intimate book of essays that chart the experiences that have made Sinead Gleeson the woman and the writer she is today, for readers of The Last Act of Love and I Am, I Am, I Am.
48
Song Flung Up to Heaven
* The sixth volume of Maya Angelou's bestselling autobiography is reissued in a new look to coincide with publication of her new book
49
Patrick Melrose Volume 1: Never Mind, Bad News and Some Hope
Patrick Melrose Volume 1 is a story of abuse, addiction and recovery. It introduces a character like no other, on a journey to the furthest limits of human experience.
50
On Leopard Rock: A Life of Adventures